The QiRanger Adventures

Contest Time!!!!

leave a comment »

Central Park

Central Park

It’s no secret that one of my passions is to grab my camera and head outdoors and show people around. There is so much to see and do in the world, that I feel by showing you where I live does a little to make the world a smaller and cozier place. I hope it also brings us together as a whole.

It’s also true that over time YouTube has become a great medium for people to record videos and share a little about where they live and think. When YouTube first came on the scene, we were relegated to a short video of 10 minutes and not more than 100mb. Now we can upload videos in full HD and up to 20gb in size.

But not everyone has a fancy camera or feels they have the skill to make a fancy video. This often leads to people not fully participating in the experience.

I aim to change that.

You see, what I enjoy most about making videos is sharing a little about where I live. I want to see where you live, because we all have memories about where we live: our houses, playgrounds, schools, trees where we first kissed, etc. and I want to see them! But i don’t want to see them in some special video, I want to see them in a little slideshow. Furthermore, I want to see them as a slide show made up of pictures from your cell phone.

So go out and make a slide show showcasing where you live. Just make sure it doesn’t go longer than 2 minutes. Upload it to YouTube and post it as a video response to this video. The deadline for initial entries is July 5th at 9pm Eastern US time. I’ll then review the submissions and then choose what I think are the top five and showcase them on my channel. Then we’ll have the finals, with votes open to the public. I make the final decision on which video I think is the best and award a special prize.

A prize you say?

Yes a prize!

The winner be awarded a bag-o-swag from Korea. That’s right. I’m going to go out and get a box and fill it up with some very unique Korean items and ship it out to you! I’ve already started collecting the items and think the stuff is pretty cool! I might have to order some of the things for myself!

So let’s see those videos!

Written by Steve Miller

June 25, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Posted in YouTube

Tagged with ,

Leave a comment