The QiRanger Adventures

The Trio

with one comment

I enjoy getting older. The amount of wisdom I’ve gained over the years has helped in more ways than I could ever relay through text or video. But one thing I don’t relish about getting older is the passing of icons from my youth. This week three prominent figures from my youth passed away.

The first was Ed McMahon. I’ve never been one to stay up until the wee hours of the night. In fact, I usually try to hit the sack before 10.30pm. so I never really watched The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson. From time to time, I would catch the opening and would also see the skits on Carson Comedy Classics. In later years, I also saw him with Dick Clark hawking various products. When I last saw McMahon in an interview with his neck brace, I really felt for him, since I’ve experienced severe neck pain before and could relate. I hope his family is doing well and coming together in this time of loss.

Then the first thing that came actress my desk this morning was the death Farrah Fawcett. I look back to my youth and remember what a sex symbol she was. How the masses in America were mesmerized by her beauty. In fact, I think my favorite role of hers has to be the one she portrayed in 1981’s Cannonball Run (Pamela Glover). It was just perfect for her. In recent years, she changed her image and took on more dramatic and powerful roles that really challenged her. Fawcett’s battle with cancer showed her true inner beauty and strength. While we all knew this was coming, it still weighs heavy on many hearts and my condolences go out to her friends and family.

Finally we arrive at the big entertainment news story of the day: Michael Jackson. I’ve never been a fan of him or his music, but acknowledge that he was a very talented and influential member of the music community. It really saddens me that his life became fodder over the years. Regardless of how things played out, 50 is too young to die. Probably the greatest tragety in his life now, is that his young chrildren will only hear about their father through the skewed eyes of the media. I wish the Jackson family comfort in their time of grief.

Written by Steve Miller

June 26, 2009 at 10:03 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This has certainly been a tough week for celebrities

    D Anderson

    June 27, 2009 at 5:43 pm


Leave a Reply

