The QiRanger Adventures

Archive for May 8th, 2008

A crazy laugh…

leave a comment »

Written by Steve Miller

May 8, 2008 at 10:05 am

Posted in General Update, Thoughts

Tagged with , , , ,

Beam me up…

leave a comment »

I’ve really had a lot of fun these past few days, going through my old stuff and uncovering lost treasures. Now in most cases, it’s been something that was a novelty and after I purchased it, the item found its way into a bin and has stayed there for 10-20 years.

I know… why the hell did I buy it if it was just going to sit in a bin? I have no idea.

But I recently found some toys, yes toys, from 1993.

That’s right people… The phaser and tricorder from Star Trek: The Next Generation. Now, I never really played with these toys, but I did use them as props from time to time in skits back in college. I mean, how could I not with all the Patrick Stewart references? But what you may not know, is that I grew up watching Star Trek. It came on TV on Channel 33 right a 6pm and we’d watch it during dinner. In fact, I even had an “Away Team” shirt and loved the animated Star Trek show.

I was never really into mobile phones when they came out. But when Motorola introduced the StarTac… childhood fantasies came back… me as Captain Kirk… On a planet, needing Scotty to beam me home. I used to play with an old wallet as the communicator. Now I have a real one.

It’s even amazing to see how far we’ve come since 1995 as well. When Star Trek: The Next Generation went off the air palm top computers hadn’t been invented. A functional LCD screen the size of one on the tricorder seemed way off. In 10 years look where we are: phones with GPS computers that do almost everything but cook us dinner.

Ain’t technology grand?

Written by Steve Miller

May 8, 2008 at 3:34 am