The QiRanger Adventures

Recap: SeoulTube2010

with 13 comments

Photo by Hyunwoo Sun

The weekend has come and gone, and with it SeoulTube 2010! I had originally wanted to host a gathering in 2009, but never got around to organizing it. I wanted 2010 to be different, especially since there’s been a surge of great people coming into Korea making videos.

I thought it would be great if 20 or 30 people would come out and mingle. That’s not what happened! Instead over 60 arrived at Banpo Park, including a rep from Google/YouTube Korea.

As with my attendance at the 2008 San Francisco gathering, I opted not to take out my camera and just experience the event. I’m glad I did, since this gathering was quite different from that one and others my friends have attended or hosted. What I mean by this is usually 80% of the attendees make videos and everyone wants to make collaborations. At our event, I figure only 20% of the attendees made videos.

That ratio was surprising, but very cool. Because I really wanted to reach out and meet the viewing audience. As YouTubers, one can see view counts and read/respond to comments, but rarely do you ever see and interact with someone who doesn’t make videos. Having this opportunity to sit down and get to know people made everything worth while.

The other amazing thing about the event, was that we had people traveling from all over Korea to gather. I was thrilled to finally meet people who I’ve been watching for a long time, but were in other cities. I only wished I had more time and the event was longer.

A sincere thank you to everyone who came out and especially to Hyunwoo Sun for making the event a great success.

Check out Youngjun’s Video of the event!

Written by Steve Miller

September 27, 2010 at 9:35 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you Steve for organizing this and I can’t imagine having done this without you! I had a great time! Great people, great place, great night! Looking forward to the next one!

    Hyunwoo (현우)

    September 27, 2010 at 11:48 am

    • Glad you had a great time! I certainly did as well. Yup.. A must-do repeat event!

      Steve

      September 27, 2010 at 12:41 pm

  2. Thanks to both of you! Turned out great.

    Evan

    September 27, 2010 at 3:32 pm

  3. Hi! I’m an online friend of HyunWoo who I met a while ago from learning Korean, and I came across your blog from… Facebook? Anywho, just wanted to say that it’s very enjoyable. I like being able to see aspects of my birth country via the wonderful thing that is the interwebs! 🙂 I wish I could have come to this event. 😦 Oh well.

    YoonSeon

    September 27, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    • Hello! Thanks so much for posting a comment here. Perhaps when we have our next gathering you can make it!

      Steve

      September 27, 2010 at 4:28 pm

      • I’m actually coming over New Year, so I’m hoping to meet up with HyunWoo and co. then! Can’t wait! 🙂

        윤선

        September 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  4. Test

    RealityZone

    September 28, 2010 at 2:00 am

  5. (Test success)

    I’m just here to confirm the greatness of the day. I even ended up rocking it out in a Jimjilbang – my first time ever – with expatkerri. What an experience that place is.

    Andy

    September 28, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    • Thanks for coming out to the gathering! It was a pleasure getting to meet you. I hope we can gather again soon and hang out more!

      Steve

      September 29, 2010 at 7:37 am

  6. Experience something without a camera? How do you do that?

    Sounds like a great time.

    bigfatqueer

    September 30, 2010 at 12:32 am

    • 😉 It was a great joy! I think the only time most people took out their cameras was to film the bridge fountain!

      Steve

      September 30, 2010 at 7:04 am

  7. Wow, amazing blog layout! Just how long have you been
    blogging regarding? you make blogging look simple. The overall look of the site is magnificent, as well as the content material!

    actors directory

    January 21, 2013 at 10:30 pm


Leave a Reply

