The QiRanger Adventures

A day away…

with 6 comments

Jo and Little T in the Flowers

When the weekend comes, it most certainly is time to play. One of the things that Jo and I do during the week is try to find something new and exciting to do. In fact, for the next month, we have nearly every weekend planed with a fun outing or gathering.

We weren’t sure what we had wanted to do this past weekend, but thankfully the KTO posted a link on their Facebook page for the Taebaek Sunflower festival.

There were several options on getting out there, but Jo and I settled on grabbing an Intercity bus from Suwon and resting along the way. Once there, we walked over to the Tourist Information booth and were instructed to take a taxi to the festival.

Being up in the high country was a welcome change after over a year in the concrete jungle, I really wanted to see some alpine areas. Taebaek was just what the doctor ordered, too. Everything was spectacular, even though most of the sunflowers had moved on to… greener pastures (I know… lame).

Yeongyeon Cave

From the festival area, Jo and I opted to taxi-it to Yeongyeon Cave. It was even a little higher up the mountain and took us on a 800 meter walk underground. It was an amazing experience, mostly because after being in the direct sunlight for hours, the cool, damp cave was welcomed. I thought it was strange that they gave us hard hats when going into the cave, but Jo and I soon realized why they did this.

While the trail system in the cave is extensive, it really isn’t tall-people friendly. Several times low outcroppings darted into the path, and on more than one occasion, I had to get down on my hands and knees to traverse the cave. That being said, it was a great experience, one that I’m thankful Jo and I made together.

The one thing I didn’t understand was the pace that others were taking through this natural wonder. Jo and I took our own sweet time (maybe 90 minutes) to go through everything. Everyone else seemed to be in some sort of race to see how fast they could get through the cave, and in my opinion, missed out on seeing how beautiful it was.

Hwanji Pond

After lunch, we headed out to Hwanji Pond. It’s located about 10 minutes from the bus terminal and was nothing less than an oasis in the center of town.

Everything was so peaceful there, that I think Jo and I thought this was the highlight of the trip. What’s really unique about this ‘pond’ is that since it produces so much water, it’s actually the source of the Nakdong River.

If you have a free day and want to explore some great natural wonders, I really recommend hopping on a bus or train and giving Taebaek a try. There’s a lot to do, and I know that Jo and I will return to visit some of the other natural wonders in town.

Written by Steve Miller

August 23, 2010 at 12:19 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a lot of fun, very beautiful…and very therapeutic. After getting out of the city for the first time this weekend, and seeing how much stress it relieves, I think it’s going have to become a habit!

    HuskEric

    August 23, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    • Yeah, Jo and I love getting away on a regular basis! I can’t wait to see what your trips bring!

      Steve

      August 23, 2010 at 1:44 pm

  2. Wow, sounds like fun, having the weekends planned, and doing different things like that! šŸ˜€

    I should definitely set something like that up too!

    Julie

    August 23, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    • It makes the weekends seem a little shorter, but then again, they’re filled with a ton-o-fun!

      Steve

      August 23, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  3. Oh goodness.. I found your blog through Julie H – you’re teaching English in Korea? That’s what I plan to do next year when I get back from a trip to Japan! That’s incredible – how are you liking it?

    thepoordreamer

    August 25, 2010 at 12:32 am


Leave a Reply

