The QiRanger Adventures

The Philippines – Part One

with 5 comments

Jo, Little T, and I spent our vacation in The Philippines. Truth be told, it was far too short of a trip. I wish we could have stayed there for at least two weeks, because there was just too much to see.

Since I only had a week off, Jo and I (and Little T) did our best to experience the best part of the Philippines, while satisfying my need to visit Bataan and Corrigedor Island. Jo did all the planning, since, well, she’s a local and had intimate knowledge of everything.

Those trips would come later, because we first stayed a few nights in historic China Town. We ventured into a few shops, including Divisoria. It’s a massive collection of shops and a bargain hunter’s paradise. Probably the best thing about our time in China Town was a stop over at 939 Fashion.

It’s a custom tailor shop and I ordered three pairs of blue jeans. Now before you think that I’m being too posh by ordering custom tailored blue jeans, I must tell you a little story. The jeans I wear are 36″ x 36″. This is a very hard, if not impossible size to find in America, let alone Asia. I have never found a pair in Korea, and while we found several pairs at Mall of Asia that were 36″x35″ – they just didn’t fit the bill. So we went to the tailor and some made. This was a great decision, as each pair was only 1200 pesos ($27). What a deal!

After our stay in Manila, we ventured up to Jo’s hometown, but stopped off at Capas National Monument along the way. It was here that those that survived the Bataan Death March were held. The grounds are massive and hold many memories for me, since my uncle was a survivor.

One of the more amazing things on-site, are the groves of trees that have been planted: one for each individual that died on the march. I took quite a bit of footage here, but was only able to include a little in the video about the Death March.

Being in the place where my Uncle had endured so much was overwhelming at times, and can be seen when I appear on camera in the video. It instantly brought back memories of teachers I had in my youth that were Holocaust survivors.

The remainder of our trip was a blur, especially the day we spent in Bataan. We drove all over that peninsula. We were lucky enough to find a local when visited Balanga Elementary School. This is the site where General Edward P King surrendered to the Japanese. According to our map, there was a small monument located here:

As you can tell, it’s not that impressive. As I said, Jo and I were lucky and a local, who had lived in Bataan all his life came up to us and showed us something a little more special:

Now that’s a little more like it!!! A full-sized recreation of the surrender. It was a very powerful moment.

For more photos, check out the album here. I’ll post more about the trip next week, since we did a lot more!

Written by Steve Miller

August 6, 2010 at 7:58 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome man.. I love the statue!

    Mike Durkee

    August 6, 2010 at 8:10 am

    • It was quite a find. Made for a much better video presentation as well!

      Steve

      August 6, 2010 at 9:07 am

  2. Wow!! $27 for custom jeans?! That’s amazinggg! I hope I get the chance to visit the Philippines…..but of course not for just the jeans!

    SeoulGirl015

    August 6, 2010 at 8:15 am

    • I highly recommend it! A great place to live and play!

      Steve

      August 6, 2010 at 9:07 am

  3. You can find everything here in the Philippines. Despite of many negative thoughts about the Filipinas, the country itself is great. There are many cheap stuffs around, good place to visit and unforgettable foods.
    Anyway, those photos are great. Specially the jeepneys, only in the Philippines.

    philippine hotel

    October 24, 2011 at 5:45 pm


Leave a Reply

