The QiRanger Adventures

An honest review…

with 2 comments

It really is magic...

I have been using a computer for longer than I can remember. I think the first computer I used was back in the late 1970s and I have loved them ever since. For a long time, I used PCs, simply because I needed certain software and Macs didn’t offer me anything. Over the years, I liked, Macs, but really didn’t like their operating system.

That all changed when Apple decided to drop their old system and move to UNIX. For those not-in-the-know, Macs run an operating system that dates back more than 40 years. By contrast, Windows is roughly half that old, and is continually being gutted and changed. So each incarnation is a new product. Apple went with UNIX because there’s so much behind it. When you add in the Linux community, the programming resources become infinitely larger.

But the thing that always grated me with Apple was their mice. I hated the one button thing. I was always used to two, three, or more buttons on a mouse. When I first got my Macbook Pro, I opted to get the Mighty Mouse. It’s a Bluetooth wireless mouse with several options. It offered left and right clicks (based on sensor inputs), had a trackball, and side buttons. I loved it. I could do everything with it.

However, the biggest problem with that mouse was the trackball. It would always get gunked up. When that happened, you either couldn’t scroll one way, or even at all. After three years and countless cleanings, my Mighty Mouse’s trackball finally gave in. I needed to get a replacement. Since I like the Bluetooth aspect of my mouse (it keeps a USB port free), I needed to get another one. Apple’s only option is the Magic Mouse, which they introduced last year.

It’s sleek. It’s sexy… but only has one surface and effectively one button. It allows for left and right clicking and solved the scrolling issue, by using the surface of the mouse as a touchpad. But, I had grown used to using Spaces and Exposé with my Mighty mouse. What was I going to do? Go to YouTube of course.

I found several tutorials on how to make better use of the mouse. this lead me to MagicPref. It’s a free program you install on your system to manage the Magic Mouse. It offers far more customization that I’ll ever use, but it now allows me to use Spaces and Exposé by creating special clicking areas (middle click for Exposé and three-finger click for Spaces). I love it and highly recommend this free program for anyone with a Magic Mouse.

Written by Steve Miller

July 26, 2010 at 7:55 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow that design is classic

    apple’s an consumer electronic product company that’s really a design firm-in-disguise. they don’t make most of the parts that go in their products & they don’t do extensive amount of laboratory work either

    dokebi

    July 26, 2010 at 8:54 am

  2. Long live Youtube for how-to videos 😀

    Julie

    July 26, 2010 at 8:45 pm


Leave a Reply

