The QiRanger Adventures

Technology

with 12 comments

I've been consumed by the Matrix! Oh noes!

For those that missed the update at the end of the last post, here’s the video link to the follow-up discussion on Red Names in Korea.

————–

Ah yes, technology. It is grand. I say this for a number of reasons. Most notably because it’s helped me significantly in three areas of my life recently.

First, since Jo is visiting family in the Philippines at the moment, I use a combination of text messaging and video calls to minimize the time and distance between us. While it’s not substitute for the real thing, I can assure you, being able to text a short message to her and get an instant reply makes a huge difference in easing the pain of being apart. Couple that with being able to video call on a regular basis, I feel I can survive this ordeal until I’m reunited with her in just over two weeks.

The second area that technology has helped me recently has been in the area of learning. I remember the first time I learned a foreign language. It was Spanish. I was trying to learn it with my father as he was preparing to go to Madrid for a business trip. We put on the record and listen along. Now I use podcasts and Rosetta Stone. As a result, I can effectively communicate with friends and locals here in Korea. It’s made my time here in Korea so much more amazing.

Finally, I’ve been amazed at the increase in technology where it comes to home video production.  I think the first time I wanted a video camera was somewhere back in the 1980s. My mother never was an avid hiker and I wanted her to be able to enjoy the scenery that my father and brothers experienced. I tried (in vain) to persuade my parents to get me a camera so I could document our experiences. While I may have failed back then to achieve that goal, I’m pleased that I can now give a glimpse of my adventures to the world.

How has technology improved your life?

Written by Steve Miller

July 8, 2010 at 7:54 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I find it amazing how much wikipedia and google has revolutionized information gathering. If I have a random curiosity, it can be quelched within minutes!

    HuskEric

    July 8, 2010 at 9:36 am

    • That it can, But I still prefer the human knowledge base!

      Steve

      July 8, 2010 at 9:39 am

  2. Technology has improved my life in tons of ways (too many to recount here)! One way is that I can keep in touch with some of my cousins out east through Facebook that I otherwise would probably not communicate with much. Unfortunately not all my cousins are on Facebook, which is too bad.

    Maurice

    July 8, 2010 at 10:57 am

    • Facebook can be a great tool. One of the ways I keep in touch with my family as well!

      Steve

      July 8, 2010 at 11:01 am

  3. technology has helped me to reconnect with old friends! ha ha. the celphone, the internet, facebook, it just worked wonders. up to now i’m still all googoo on them. ha ha

    IT consulting

    July 8, 2010 at 5:31 pm

  4. amazing. Thanks for posting. If you have the chance feel free to visit me back on my site to know about yugioh hologram duel disk.

    roger lebeau

    July 8, 2010 at 7:11 pm

  5. Hey, wonderful blog you have here! Keep up the good job

    Indoor IP camera

    July 31, 2010 at 3:12 am

  6. Nice work! great blog

    Janeth Penfold

    July 31, 2010 at 11:22 pm

  7. Hey guys, this good wook!

    Joey Vorgas

    August 1, 2010 at 1:34 am

  8. I’ve learn some excellent stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you set to make this kind of wonderful informative website.

    ex back system pdf

    August 23, 2011 at 12:26 pm


Leave a Reply

