The QiRanger Adventures

Monsoons

with 9 comments

Ah yes, it’s that time of year again: Monsoon Season. I remember growing up in Arizona and actually having monsoon rains (brief bursts of rain that would pound the Earth on a daily basis). In fact, one of my favorite Grand Canyon pictures from the early 1990s is of a cloud burst over the South Rim.

But this is about Korea.

The rains have come. Starting now and well into August, Korea experiences rain. Not just sporadic monsoon rain, but steady rain every day. As you can see  from the forecast to the right, every day is scheduled to have some moisture from above drop on us (yeah Sunday is clear… but what do weathermen really know).

I’m not really a fan of this time of year, not because I don’t like  rain (I actually really do), but because so many of the activities I enjoy are hampered by it. For example, I’m headed to the coast this weekend. Some of what I’d like to be able to do may not happen, simply because of the rain. But then again, I love sitting out on some of the pavilions here in Korea during the rain and listen to the storms. There’s something magical about rain that really calms me.

Today, I’m heading out to a local coffee shop and taking the computer along to do some writing (I’m currently writing a collection of stories for an audio book). I figure, why write at home when I can be out in the glorious rain with a cup of coffee?

So as I close out my Friday, this is my question to you: On a rainy day, what’s your favorite thing to do? For me, it’s finding a nice covered location (it may be a cafe or some porch), sit with Jo, some coffee, and play cribbage. The calming effect of the raindrops just can’t be beat (well, in my opinion).

Written by Steve Miller

July 2, 2010 at 7:32 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I never was a big fan of the rainy season in Korea either. It was always the walk to work that did it for me. Good luck with your writing!

    Jason

    July 2, 2010 at 7:40 am

    • Thanks! Yeah, I hate living so far from work now. It was so much easier when I lived next door!

      Steve

      July 2, 2010 at 7:41 am

  2. My favourite thing to do on a rainy day is just chill at home and have some “me time.” Grab some coffee, and maybe play computer games, or watch tv/movies, or write, or read. As long as I’m warm, comfy, and entertained its all good.

    Maurice

    July 2, 2010 at 7:52 am

  3. Favorite? My folks house in TN. Porch swing. Guitar. Sweet Tea! That brings back the memories!

    HuskEric

    July 2, 2010 at 11:16 am

  4. Great post, Steve. Rain seems to have that very same effect on me too. I like hiding out in a cafe and typing away. Good luck on that writing of yours.

    G

    Gregory

    July 3, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    • Thank you. I need to finish the next part by tomorrow and then spend the next week editing a dissertation… plenty to keep me busy… Oh yeah.. and I have to film some bits too! I need to more time! Hope the rest of your weekend is going well!

      Steve

      July 3, 2010 at 6:13 pm


Leave a Reply

