The QiRanger Adventures

Adult Beverages

with 11 comments

One of the great things about traveling abroad is spending time in the Duty Free Shops (DHS). Normally there really aren’t any outstanding deals, but coming from Korea, where things can be a bit more expensive, you never know what you might find. My favorite place to hide out is in the liquor DHS. I do this because good whiskey is very expensive in Korea. A regular fifth of Jack Daniels is roughly double the price I’d pay in the US.

On this last trip abroad, Jo and I were waiting in the Jakarta airport and I ventured into the DHS to see what they had to offer. We had done this prior to leaving Seoul and made a decision to get a bottle or two of adult beverages if we had money left from our trip. Since that was the case… it was time to go shopping.

My personal choice for adult beverages has always been spirits. My personal taste has changed over the years, and has settled in on whiskeys. Using my cash, I decided to pickup two bottles to celebrate another year in Korea. My decision perfectly reflected love of whiskey: one bottle of Glenfiddich’s 15-year old single malt and Jack Daniel’s Single Barrel.

When it comes to whiskey, I simply love scotch. It’s rich full, flavor is a wondrous way to end the evening. I equally love sour mash whiskey, known as bourbon, or in the case of Jack Daniel’s, Tennessee Whiskey.

While Jo and I have been settling back into our lives here in Korea, we’ve been catching up on a few old movies. My favorite way to enjoy them is with a nice glass of whiskey. Rather than the exact measurements you get at a bar, I love filling my glass with ice and then pouring in the whiskey until it reaches the top of the glass. The sound the ice makes as it crackles and pops after coming into contact with the warm alcohol instantly brings a smile to my face.

This past week, we popped the cork on the Glenfiddich and wasn’t disappointed. it was rich. It was smooth. I had two classes. It was pure awesomeness. Even Jo, who really isn’t a spirit drinker enjoyed several sips from my glasses. I’m really looking forward to opening the Single Barrel, since it has been well over a year since I’ve tasted that beverage (in Korea that bottle can run you over W400,000 at a bar).

So what’s your favorite adult beverage?

Written by Steve Miller

June 16, 2010 at 4:19 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not sure, but I enjoy an ice cold beer on a hot summers day! The scotch sounds good in winter, if nothing but for the warmth going down!

    jyankee

    June 16, 2010 at 5:41 am

    • Scotch is great for the summer nights… A great way to unwind. I’m looking forward to throwing back a few cold beers Thursday night as I watch the World Cup Match!

      Steve

      June 16, 2010 at 7:36 am

  2. Not sure, but I enjoy an ice cold beer on a hot summers day! The scotch sounds good in winter, if nothing but for the warmth going down!

    jyankee

    June 16, 2010 at 5:41 am

    • By the way.. What is your favorite beer?

      Steve

      June 16, 2010 at 7:37 am

      • I really like the Japanese beers.. Yebisu, Sapporo etc…

        JYankee

        June 16, 2010 at 9:33 am

  3. I would say that you have brought back some memories of good whisky by the description in this posting, it all sounds pretty good, specially the thought of opening the single barrel,used to be… a long while back a Jack drinker, will have to reminesce and try it again, been a long long time. Do have a bottle of Crown Royal cask No 16 in a cognac oak case unopened waiting for the right moment to cherish. Hmmmm!

    Melisa

    June 16, 2010 at 9:40 am

  4. I haven’t tried Glenfiddich but I sure will now. My single malt of choice is Balvenie. Crown is also great. As far as beer, definitely foreign-German, Czech Repub, or Japanese.
    I’m sure steve you can attest to this; when all else fails, there’s always Soju and coffee its soooooooooo the s!#t.

    Bill

    June 16, 2010 at 1:39 pm

  5. I certainly enjoy single malt scotch. A few years ago a Brazilian friend introduced me to Cachaca made from fermented sugar cane and I love that too.

    I am not drinking much since I have been trying to lose weight, but the good thing about spirits is that you can sip slowly and make it last without consuming a lot of calories.

    bigfatqueer

    June 17, 2010 at 3:02 am

    • That’s exactly why I enjoy them so much! Thanks Phil and I’m glad that you’re still ding such a great job on your journey. When’s the next Beer Summit?

      Steve

      June 17, 2010 at 6:16 am


Leave a Reply

