The QiRanger Adventures

Weekend Away

with 9 comments

Myogaksa Temple (Credit: Myogaksa.net)

During the Lotus Lantern Festival, Jo and I participated in a number of booths in front of Jogyesa Temple. Several of the booths were manned by the kind folks at Templestay Korea. During the day, Jo and I visited a dozen booths and received stamps at each one. This was important, since the first 100 people who completed the process would earn a free Templestay (W50,000 value).

When it was all said and done, Jo and I were the 6th and 7th to turn in our forms. When we looked over the details, we were really excited that Templestay gave us three temples to choose from and two months to complete our stay. We decided to do it this past weekend and happy that we did.

Of the three temples we had to choose from, we settled on Myogaksa, in Jongno. It’s one of the few Templestays that offers an overnight experience, so that made it much more worthwhile. Most that participated in our group were English teachers, but we also had a mother-daughter team from Singapore and an exchange student from Thailand. Six Koreans also participated.

The Nun leading the session (ģ—¬ģ—¬) had a great grasp of English, but was faced with the challenge of having to switch back and forth to Korean several times, as many of the Korean participants couldn’t speak any English. That aside, I can tell you that this was the real deal when it comes to Templestays… this wasn’t the easy tourist version. This was for those that really want insight into a Korean Buddhist’s life.

We did just about everything listed in the program, except walking in the mountain (canceled due to rain). I found prostrating and making the 108 beaded prayer lanyard especially rough on my old knee injury. When I got home, I couldn’t wait to take some medicine to help quell the pain. I’m sure spending an hour in half-lotus this morning didn’t help things either…

I will say, that getting up at 4am was a bit rough, especially after the excitement of listening to Korea’s win in the World Cup. I’m very thankful Jo and I had this opportunity.

If you have questions about our stay, please post them, I’d be happy to answer them based on my experience. now that I shared with you how I spent my weekend, how did you spend yours?

Written by Steve Miller

June 14, 2010 at 4:00 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow..sounds like a wonderful weekend… you read about mine already! LOL… I am thinking that it is similar to some of the temple stays here…which I haven’t done yet…but have heard a lot about. Rest up that body… it deserves it!

    JYankee

    June 14, 2010 at 7:25 am

    • Yes, we rested a lot last night… with a single malt scotch. Now I’m feeling better, although the knees are still aching… but no rest for the wicked!!! Time to hit the gym!

      Steve

      June 14, 2010 at 7:27 am

  2. Sounds like you had a great time. The picture is lovely.

    Paula

    June 14, 2010 at 9:26 am

    • It was a great weekend… The photo is from the temple site. I didn’t take my camera šŸ˜‰ It was nice for a change not to have to take pictures!

      Steve

      June 14, 2010 at 10:00 am

  3. My weekend wasn’t nearly so interesting, I spent most of it trying to recover from a cold (I’m getting better now). Although I did pick up my mom from the airport yesterday (Sunday), and got to visit which was nice. I’m picking up my dad today, they’re both coming for my university graduation ceremony which is tomorrow (Convocation as we call it here in Canada).

    Maurice

    June 15, 2010 at 1:28 am

    • Congratulations on finishing up your degree! I hope the experience is memorable!

      Steve

      June 15, 2010 at 7:11 am

      • Thank you, it was interesting!

        Maurice

        June 17, 2010 at 9:44 am

  4. It sounds very interesting and informative, but 4am? I could never do that.

    bigfatqueer

    June 15, 2010 at 2:52 am

    • I found it surprisingly easy. Living in the temple is so very different than life in the city. I’m not sure I’d do it again, but I would definitely recommend the experience.

      Steve

      June 15, 2010 at 7:13 am


Leave a Reply

