The QiRanger Adventures

Friday night!!!!

with 3 comments

The first week of work is nearly complete… only one more class and then I get to go home and spend the weekend with my lovely wife. This week has been full of changes, for a number of reasons.

First, it is the start of a new term. While I have a large number of returning classes, I have about three new classes. This requires me to spend a little time with the students in order for them to understand my expectations in class and to make sure they can succeed and advance to the next level. It also offers me the opportunity to identify any potential problems in class. I’ve decided to make a few changes in my classes this term, most notably having a test each day. This is because most students don’t do their reading homework. Hopefully, this will instill within them to actually do the work their parents are signing off on.

The second change is that I have received a promotion at the school. After one year of teaching, the powers-that-be have moved me up to the Head Native Teacher. It’s a position I’m looking forward to carrying out this next year, since our teaching staff (on the Native Teacher side) is rather small. In addition to my regular duties, I have a few supervisory ones, but in all, the additional work (and pay) even out. I can’t wait to see what the year brings.

This weekend. Jo and I will be attending a Templestay. Well, I hope. I’ve managed to get another cold, and I’m not feeling 100%. I’m not sure if I want to be up in the mountains, eating porridge, and roughing it. There’s something to be said about sleeping in until noon when you’re sick. I also would like to spend a little more time editing the next vacation video, and I have been asked to do a vlog video as well. This is on top of all my other work. So much to do… so little soju to get it done with.

One last thing… I was really moved when I returned to teaching this week. A large number of my students were genuinely happy to see me and forbid me ever to take a vacation again!

Have a great weekend!!!!

Written by Steve Miller

June 12, 2010 at 12:00 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey congrats on the promotion! I just signed a contract with a school in Daegu teaching Elementary/Middle School kids, and I’ll be starting ASAP next month (ahh)! You mentioned going over rules and stuff, I was wondering what kind of rules and disciplinary measures you use with your kids?

    Maurice

    June 12, 2010 at 5:40 am

    • I reminded them all that this is English class, and that all talking and writing must be in English. I also let them know that shouting out answers isn’t acceptable. They must raise their hand. If they shout out the answer, they will not be called upon. I also explained my point system and how doing homework and performing well on exams helps their team and vice versa. My school also has other penalties in place for poor behavior, so I reminded them that excessive poor behavior will earn them a trip to the director’s office, an academic warning, and possible expulsion. Since I take the time to really go over the rules at the start of each term, I don’t have disciplinary problems as the term goes on.

      Steve

      June 12, 2010 at 9:03 am

      • Those are good rules, thanks.

        Maurice

        June 12, 2010 at 10:36 am


Leave a Reply

