The QiRanger Adventures

Back and Ready for Action!!!!

with 11 comments

Who knew?

There’s something about a great cup of coffee. There’s something even better about getting it from the source. For the past few weeks, I’ve been absent from the internet, and now that I’m back, I’m extremely thankful I have my trusty morning beverage by my side as I go through hundreds of messages.

Where have I been on vacation??? Jo and I traveled to the Republic of Indonesia and have absolutely enjoyed our time there. While visited the nation back in 2007, I never really had the opportunity to explore its sights and culture. Jo had never been and our visit was two-fold. Not only did it serve as our honeymoon, but Jo has an old school/best friend that lives in Jakarta that she hasn’t seen in ages. This was the perfect trip for us!

What we did during our time in Jakarta will be the subject of upcoming posts, so I won’t spoil the details here… but I will say that I haven’t taken this many photos in a long time… then there’s the 45gb of video I took. I haven’t even started going through the footage yet; however, the image above is from the McDonald’s in Bali. Who knew that Ronald had such moves.

So how does one spend their time in Indonesia? One does it by being a tourist! Jo and I love exploring things, so when planning the trip, I let Jo handle everything with the caveat that I wanted a few easy days to relax, since after all, it was a vacation. On most days during our vacation, we started the morning at 6am or earlier… and ended the sight-seeing expeditions after 10pm. I have to hand it to Jo, she did an amazing job or putting together THE perfect itinerary. We had it all, great sights, great friends, great food, and a great time together.

While in Indonesia, we spent our time in three locations: Jakarta (the nation’s capital city), Jogjakarta (in central Java), and all over the island of Bali. Each of the three locations had something different to offer. Jakarta is a robust city, where the split between the “Haves” and the “Have-nots” is blatantly clear. It has some amazing attractions (not to mention very cheap). Jogjakarta brought us to the mystical side of Indonesia with a pair of magic trees and the largest Buddhist Temple in the world. Then there’s Bali, Indonesia’s Hindu paradise.

As I start the process of going through my materials, also be prepared for a few upcoming Korean Video projects. Currently, I’m updating the intro/outro for the travel projects. Before my departure, I also streamlined my videos online (and wound up removing half for various reasons). One of the things I’m really excited about is returning to Gyeongbokgung to re-shoot the video there in HD. It should prove to be amazing!

I hope you’re all doing well and thanks for sticking around and get ready for a fun, new year!

Written by Steve Miller

June 8, 2010 at 7:19 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It was a wonderful vacation! ❤
    Though I must give credit for the itinerary to Jan, Lia, and our awesome tour guides. If not for them, we wouldn't have had such a great trip! 🙂
    Looking forward to more adventures with you, my love!

    Jo

    June 8, 2010 at 8:53 am

    • Sure Jan and Lia did a lot… but you put our trip together!!!! Love you.

      Steve

      June 8, 2010 at 9:41 am

  2. Can’t wait to see some media from your trip!!! I am jealous. 🙂

    I have been checking out Talk to Me in Korean but just now have set the goal to start studying everyday! How’s your Korean studying going?

    Jason

    June 8, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    • Really stalled. I have so much on my plate at the moment, I haven’t really invested in the time. My goal is to get through all the TTMIK lessons while at work. One a day!!!!!! I still need to get back to Rosetta, but I need more time to do that. As I sit and reply, my computer is maxed out… 4 USB devices and processes moving slower than a x486! How are you my friend?

      Steve

      June 8, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  3. Also can’t wait for the video…

    I need to find some good post somewhere about inexpensive long-weekend vacations outside of Korea. I’m finding short flights around to be a little more expensive than expected!

    HuskEric

    June 8, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    • It all really depends on when you’re traveling. On long Korean Holiday weekends, there’s always a premium!

      Steve

      June 8, 2010 at 4:02 pm

  4. Aw, I’m jealous. I’d love to go to Indonesia sometime! I’m glad you’re back, looking forward to all the videos.

    Maurice

    June 9, 2010 at 3:35 am

    • Thanks!!! Indonesia is a great place!

      Steve

      June 9, 2010 at 7:20 am

      • If you don’t mind me asking, is traveling to and around Indonesia terribly expensive from Korea?

        Maurice

        June 9, 2010 at 11:50 am

        • There are cheap options to get to Indonesia from Korea; however, it may require extensive planning and unique travel patterns. Once in Indonesia, it’s pretty cheap to hire a car and driver (maybe $80 per day or less). Overall, things are pretty cheap in Indonesia.

          Steve

          June 9, 2010 at 12:03 pm

          • Cool, thanks for the info, I’ll keep that in mind for future reference.

            Maurice

            June 9, 2010 at 12:40 pm


Leave a Reply

