The QiRanger Adventures

Fifty

with 4 comments

It’s hard to believe that this week marks my fiftieth week in Korea for this contract. The time has absolutely flow by, even more so since Jo has been here. Now as I face my two last weeks of teaching before vacation, I’m faced with a rather sad situation at work.

Tomorrow marks the last day with one of my favorite classes. At my school, we only teach grades 1-6. Once students reach the higher English courses and are in Grade 6, they move up to the middle school section. Such is the case with my Friday class.

I first had them when they were studying in a lower level class. Therefore, over the past year, I’ve seen them really blossom into proficient English Speakers. Probably my proudest moment teaching them took place a few weeks ago.

It was during our school-wide speaking contest. I knew that there would be a presentation portion in the contest, and for two months, I harped on them how it make a good presentation: speak slowly, look at the audience, have an introduction and a good conclusion, etc. Every time they had a presentation in class we went over these skills. As a result, every one of them scored near perfect on the assessment.

I am extremely proud of them.

Since tomorrow is my last session with them, we’re going to have a little party. Rather than cover the book material, I’m bringing in a few pizzas and cola. Their homework this week was write five questions down for an “Interview with Steve.” The only thing I told them was that their questions could be simple ones like: “What’s your favorite color?” “Where are you from?” or “How old are you?” I’m quite excited to see what they come up with. If they fall short, I’ll have to bust out the book of questions (or at least some of the questions I remember).

Since Jo and I are going on vacation in two weeks, this will also be my last regular blog post for a while. We have a few events scheduled in the next few days, but the daily posts will resume in June. Until then… have a great May and I wish you all great success!

Written by Steve Miller

May 13, 2010 at 11:00 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have a great vacation Steve! We expect YouTube vids and blog posts about this vacation upon your return. 😉

    Maurice

    May 13, 2010 at 11:04 am

  2. 7 x 50 = 350 – aha! you could just have said 1 year.

    Well pat yourself on the back for all the good work you did as a teacher.

    dokebi

    May 15, 2010 at 12:30 pm

  3. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, watch south park online

    Adormagrido

    May 17, 2010 at 4:06 am


Leave a Reply

