The QiRanger Adventures

Impact

with 6 comments

I love what I do. I mean, I really do. Each day, I’m excited to go to school and see my kids and help them along in their English education. I’m not sure if I was teaching in the US, if I’d have the same feelings, given the current state of affairs in that department.

But from time to time, I get messages and notes via YouTube that are equally moving. Today was one such day.

When I opened my Inbox, I noted that I had a message from someone whose name I didn’t recognize. When I clicked on the message, I found it a long, long string of prose.

While I won’t disclose what the letter said, I will share that the writer found my videos on Korea extremely helpful. That because I share what life is like here and what one can experience here, he is currently thinking of entering the ESL field and teaching in Asia.

I never thought of my videos as anything special. Sure I enjoy making them and getting the feedback. It’s one of the reasons I continue to try and make things more and more “professional.” But to get a message like that from someone I’ve never had contact with really reinforced a driving belief in my life:

How ever you act – good or bad – you may never know the impact it has on another human being. Always putting your best foot forward goes a long way and can make an impact in someone else’s life. You may never know the impact your actions have, but rest assured, all your actions have reactions.

Have a great day and I wish you great success!

Written by Steve Miller

May 12, 2010 at 10:12 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just found your blog and it is very, very nice – I’m thankful to know that there are people that love what they do and I know it is possible. Keep up the fantastic work you are doing!

    livingdilbert

    May 12, 2010 at 10:54 am

    • Thanks! I love your blog! (I took a quick look at it when I saw this post came in.) I’ve now added it to my RSS feed and look forward to your upcoming tales. I hope they are more positive and the Zombies don’t get you!

      Steve

      May 12, 2010 at 12:48 pm

  2. I too just wanted to extend my appreciation and thanks for your blog and youtube inputs. I find myself going to them everyday like a newspaper in anticipation of what I’m going to learn on that day. Your videos are an inspiration to the point where I’m thinking about doing the same type of videos following my days as a Massage Therapy instructor. Wish me luck. Again, thanks.

    Bill

    May 12, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    • Ah very cool! I’m very happy they’re so helpful Bill. Massage Therapy is a blast and I enjoyed it so much when I had my private practice. I hope you’ll send me a message if you start that video series!

      Steve

      May 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm

  3. That’s awesome that your youtube videos had such an impact on someone! It’s great when you find out that you had a positive impact on someone’s life, it hasn’t happened to me yet, but I’m sure it will someday. I too very much enjoy your youtube videos and blog, keep up the good work! 🙂

    Maurice

    May 13, 2010 at 11:00 am

    • Thank you my friend! It’s those little things in life that really make it all worthwhile! Have a great day!

      Steve

      May 13, 2010 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

