The QiRanger Adventures

A Sunday Funny!

with 5 comments

Sunday afternoon I left the apartment on a mission: to find some hooks for out kitchen. The bar that has holding up all our spatulas and rice paddles has finally bit the dust. The left suction cup just won’t stick! It’ s a very sad thing, as Jo and I have relied heavily on it for cooking!

For the past week, we’ve had these utensils hanging all over the place, and it was starting to get to me, since I like a nice an tidy kitchen. Luckily, on my trip to Daiso (a 1000 won chain store), I found two door hooks. While they are designed to hang over your closet door and for you to put your coat or jacket on… these hooks just happen to be the right size to hold the long bar that keeps falling down. As a result… our problem has now been solved!

Following this successful shopping journey, I went out to E-Mart to pick up some nachos for later. While there, I saw that Chivas was on sale. It’s been a while since I’ve had some scotch in the apartment. I mean, I love soju, but having a small glass of scotch is a great way to sit down and relax with Jo at the end of the weekend. What I didn’t anticipate was a little problem when I got home.

Security FAIL

I opened up the box of Chivas to find that E-Mart had installed a security ribbon on the bottle. These are metal and can’t be cut. They must be removed at the cashier. Mine failed to open the box and remove it… But that didn’t seem to matter, since I walked out of E-Mart with no alarms going off. I guess these are just for show. I’m just glad they aren’t the once that cover the spout of the bottle. It makes it a little harder to pour… but the W3,000 I saved has made this bottle a welcomed treat. I plan on having a little this evening as Jo and I watch the Season Finale of The Amazing Race.

Something else that Jo and I have been hooked on lately has been Castle. We watched the entire first season last week and have already digested the first episode of season two. We might hold off until the second season completes so we can get a single set of all the episodes.

Sunday night, we resumed our tradition of having Pizza. Rather than walking all the way to Pizza Maru, a new placed opened up near Central Park: YoungGu’s! I really like their style, although they are a bit more expensive. But for W19,000 Jo and I got a great combination pizza (18 inches at that) and a cola delivered to our apartment. I’m not sure if this will be the weekly replacement for Pizza Maru (W12,000 for two mediums), but I will admit, I really do like not having to walk to the shop (since Pizza Maru doesn’t deliver).

For those interested, here’s the video of our Saturday outing. I’m quite happy with the final result.

Cheers!

Written by Steve Miller

May 11, 2010 at 8:06 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I haven’t come across those security ribbons myself, but I imagine I would be a little annoyed 😛 Good thing it doesn’t cover the spout of the bottle, that would be even more annoying, having to go all the way back to the store to get it removed :/

    Julie

    May 11, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    • I was very thankful that it wasn’t the latter kind of protective device. That would have really put me off!

      Steve

      May 11, 2010 at 3:47 pm

  2. Very nicely done! I quite enjoy the science and history behind hangul! Thanks for sharing!

    HuskEric

    May 11, 2010 at 11:45 pm

  3. What a fantastic post! Personally, its commenting that led me to finally start a couple of blogs of my own. But no matter how much blogging I do I know I’ll keep on commenting since I believe I’d get a little lonely in my echo chamber without having it xd

    Allen

    May 28, 2010 at 1:01 am


Leave a Reply

