The QiRanger Adventures

Children’s Day!

with 5 comments

I find myself sitting here on a wonderful Wednesday, sipping coffee and peering over the top of my computer at my beautiful wife. If today was a normal day, we’d both be busy taking care of business, but fortunately it’s not. It’s May 5th, or Children’s Day in Korea. From the Wiki:

In South Korea, May 5th is officially recognized as Children’s Day. Parents often give presents to their children, as well as spend time with them. The children are taken on excursions to zoos and museums. The holiday was originally celebrated on May 1st, but was later moved to May 5th.

The writer Bang Jeong-Hwan is attributed to creating Children’s Day in Korea. He is also believed to be responsible for changing the meaning of the word “어린이” into “child”, which originally meant for “younger” (as opposed to “성인” (“older”)).

While the holiday, in and of itself is great, it’s also designated as a public holiday, so I have the day off. Some public schools are closing down the rest of the week, having just completed mid-terms (how I wish I was working there!).

Seven-tiered Hina doll set

One of the stories that I read in my classes is about Boy’s and Girl’s Day in Japan. Girl’s Day falls on March 3rd and has some awesome traditions.

Boy’s Day in Japan also falls on May 5th and is now designated as Children’s Day. It’s marked with giant banners hanging from the rafters.

When I discuss the similarities between the two sets of holidays, most in the class agree that having one holiday is better than splitting up the sexes. This way all children can feel special.

I hope you all enjoy your Wednesday, I know we will!

Cheers!

Written by Steve Miller

May 5, 2010 at 11:39 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indeed it is Children’s Day here too… hope you’re enjoying it. Lovely weather here… almost too hot!

    Jyankee

    May 5, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    • I know! It went from too cold to very warm. Do they still have Girl’s Day or have they combined the holidays now?

      Steve

      May 5, 2010 at 1:36 pm

      • They combined it. Now it is a mixture of holidays that make up the week long holiday of “Golden Week” here in Japan. They still have the “hina matsuri” which is basically the Girls Day and the Boys Day or now Children’s day where many of the older districts will fly huge carp flags, representing the household and the number of sons…

        Jyankee

        May 5, 2010 at 8:44 pm

        • I see. Thanks for clarifying this. I had asked a few of my other friends in Japan and they never got back to me. I believe one of the stories I teach tomorrow touches on this, so I can share with them this latest news!

          Thanks again!

          Steve

          May 5, 2010 at 9:27 pm

  2. happy children’s day from Japan

    DinoLingo

    May 5, 2011 at 12:57 am


Leave a Reply

