The QiRanger Adventures

The Mini…

with 4 comments

A different kind of mini

When I hear the word “mini” the first thing that comes to mind is the Mini Cooper. It was first seen in the 1960s and became an icon of that generation. Hell, how many times have you see a British film and a quaint little Mini zoomed in and out of frame. As 2000 approached, the Mini gained new popularity. The new Minis are stylish, and from I hear, are quite roomy inside, even for a man of my stature.

But here in Dongtan, mini takes on a whole new meaning.

Last fall, when I was walking around this small town trying to find my apartment, I stumbled across a small re-creation of the Hwaseong Fortress. I was quite impressed and have always wanted to go back. Now that spring has returned, I took some time out this afternoon to visit the park. The only problem was that I didn’t quite remember where it was. Sure it was close to my apartment, but on which street I had no clue.

So with a few hours to kill, I started walking.

And walking I did. After an hour, I finally stumbled upon the park… and only on my way back home for lunch at that. It was just as I remembered it. A beautiful re-creation of the fortress with no one in it, set up against the hills of Dongtan. The reason I wanted to find this place, is I have a sneaky suspicion, that once the weather gets really nice, tons of people are going to flock to this park and I really want to try and get Jo here before then to take pictures of all the buildings and fountains. It really is something special, that not many in the city know about and I think her beautiful eye for photography can do it more justice than my writing. When we do head back, I plan on taking my camera with me and making a quick little video.

I hope that you have a great day and that your weekend is spectacular! What is everyone going to do?

Written by Steve Miller

April 23, 2010 at 4:14 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOL.. I wondered where you were going with this post…! It does look like a really nice place, looking forward to pics!
    The weekend? Weather is crappy here too…but looks to recover for the weekend. Weekend is work for both me and hubs…. daughter has badminton tomorrow..that’s about it… 😦

    jy

    April 23, 2010 at 7:08 am

    • Hoping you get a chance to relax with the Hubby and A soon!!! And I hope the weather turns out for the better soon!

      Steve

      April 23, 2010 at 8:48 am

  2. That seems like a cool place to check out, especially before everyone else gets there 😀 There’s nothing like having a place like that to yourself!

    I remember when a friend and I were in Cambodia, visiting the temple complexes in the Angor Wat area… We were there soooo early (like 5-6am!) to be able to catch the sunrise that everyone was talking about, but we were the only ones there! 😛 So we had several temples all to ourselves! There were no one there, just a stray dog appearing out of nowhere :S But it was fun, being able to walk the temple ruins quietly and alone! 😀

    This weekend I have my final lesson in Kyudo/Japanese archery, and I’ll probably try and catch up on my Internet life a bit… Maybe read some! 😀

    Have a wicked day!

    Julie

    April 23, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    • LOL – A wicked day… lol! That sounds like a lot of fun! I can’t wait to see what you’ve done with the archery!

      Your Angor Wat story sounds awesome. Gives me a great idea if I ever make it there!

      Steve

      April 23, 2010 at 3:56 pm


Leave a Reply

