The QiRanger Adventures

Not that impressive…

with 7 comments

Look at my camera... and it isn't even a Smart Phone!

I was going through the news yesterday and saw a news story that made me laugh.

It tells of a major “new” advancement in cell phone technology: two cameras on a phone, allowing users to make video calls in real-time, over a cell phone network.

The HTC EVO4G will be the first in the US to offer this on the Sprint Network.

Wow.

The reason why I think this is quite funny, is that to many  Americans, this will be seen as a huge innovation. What they will fail to realize is in Asia, we’ve been able to do this for years, and not only on the high-end smart phones. My entry-level Samsung phone handles these video calls quite nicely.

The US really needs to vamp up its technology infrastructure if it ever hopes to catch up to Asia. Even now, the Broadband speeds and penetration are 15 years behind Korea.

Written by Steve Miller

March 31, 2010 at 4:00 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, video calls! lol, North America is so far behind on cell phone tech, a few years at least.

    Maurice

    March 31, 2010 at 10:23 am

  2. It never fails to amaze me when I go back to the States at how antique the American cell phones look! Even the pics on my SIL’s Motorola Razorback are really blurry, whereas the Sharp models here in Japan, even my iPhone has better pics!

    jy

    March 31, 2010 at 8:37 pm

  3. Similar situation in Australia. Had video calls on cell phones for a couple of years. Its still archaic compared to what you would find in Korea. As for broadband, things are getting better. The government is now spending AU$43 billion on a national high-speed broadband network. The objective is to get speeds around 100Mbps to the home. I can hardly imagine what Korean, Japanese or even Chinese technology I’ll be enviously eyeing off once i get my 100Mbps connection to my home.

    Steve

    March 31, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    • I love my 100mb connection here. I can’t imagine being in a country that doesn’t have that kind of penetration.!

      Steve

      April 1, 2010 at 9:57 am

  4. I think America has been distracted by other issues.

    raptoralpha

    April 2, 2010 at 8:31 am

  5. Thought this video was relevant:
    Tech review: Broadband in Australia & the US

    Steve

    April 12, 2010 at 11:36 am


Leave a Reply

