The QiRanger Adventures

New Mix

with 12 comments

커피하고 소주 (Coffee and Soju)

Last month when Jo and I were out in Gangnam with Hyunwoo and Valerie, Hyunwoo mentioned that an older friend of his drinks his adult beverages in a rather unique way. At first hearing his take, I balked, but seeing as how it involved two of my favorite things, I had to give it a go.

First, one must realize that coffee is really loved here in Korea. So much more than in the US. On every block, there is at least one coffee shop, and more often than not, there are three or four. Furthermore, in every convenience store you can buy pre-brewed coffee in cans (and they sell them hot or cold!). This is a great feature of living in Korea, since it means I can always get a cup of joe on the go!

Next, remember that soju (소주) is THE drink in Korea. It’s also found everywhere (heck they even have juice boxes of the stuff).

So, Hyunwoo’s friend’s idea was to mix the two together. That’s right coffee and soju.

I was very skeptical of the idea, but seeing as how it involved my two favorite beverages… I just had to give it a go.

Last night, after work, I came home and put the two together.

I was amazed.

It was a great combination. The coffee (blended with sugar and milk) was very smooth and creamy. The added soju gave it just the right kick and didn’t overpower the drink. I had Jo try some and she agreed. We both now have a new way to enjoy soju (and my master plan of getting Jo to love coffee is slowly coming together).

Written by Steve Miller

March 17, 2010 at 7:31 am

Posted in Cooking, Food, Thoughts

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lol! Master plan eh? I really love coffee. It just makes my heart too hyper. ;D
    I definitely like the new mix! Now I want to try mixing Soju with more drinks!

    Jo

    March 17, 2010 at 9:05 am

    • 😉 I think we may have to pick up some more soju while at Lotte today!!!!!

      Love you darling!!!

      Steve

      March 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

  2. Wow, crazy idea, but I’ll have to try it sometime!

    Maurice

    March 17, 2010 at 9:57 am

  3. hmmm… mixing alcohol and caffeine sounds really unhealthy… you should try mixing soju with cider(or 7up/Sprite) and drinking yogurt they sell in Korea or with lemon.

    Joseph

    March 17, 2010 at 12:58 pm

  4. lol.. hold on, let me Korean up my coffee.

    etatauri

    March 17, 2010 at 3:09 pm

  5. I’ll be trying that tonight! Great idea.

    bry0000000

    March 18, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    • It really was fantastic. I might have to have some more this evening!

      Steve

      March 18, 2010 at 4:13 pm

  6. Seems like Korea’s the place to visit!

    And good luck on your plan! Lol!

    Julie

    March 18, 2010 at 2:25 pm


Leave a Reply

