The QiRanger Adventures

A day out…

with 5 comments

Love

One of the things that I haven’t done since moving into the New, New Digs is really explore the neighborhood. Jo has been out a few times, and on occasion, I’ve wandered through the streets, but I’ve never really taken the time to seek out all the little cool places I’ve come to expect in these small villages. So with finding an old noodle place I once saw in mind, Jo and I ventured out!

Thankfully it was still warm and sunny. For the past week, there’s been rain and the temperatures have been in the single digits (again). I thought Spring was coming on in full force, but I was wrong. Anyway, the day was fantastic and we sent out looking for some authentic Korean Noodles.

I unfortunately had no idea where I had seen the restaurant before, so that left us with the task of wandering through the back alleys and discovering all sorts of new things. I recorded the whole trip on video, since I often get questions about what the “real” Korea looks like. Living in a small town is just as Korean as living in Seoul… only with a few less million people.

We did finally end up finding the restaurant. While I would like to tell you it was some good food, I’ll say that most of it was quite tasty, but some of it was rather bland. Jo and I then headed over to a great little LG Mart and shopped for some cheap things. She found a Korean jacks game that one of her students taught her back in February. I think we may have to play that, nertz, and cribbage later today (along with some soju).

To celebrate White Day, we’re going with a friend into Suwon to Church and then doing a little exploration. We may make our way up to the jjimjilbang later before ordering pizza and chilling out at home. We managed to knock out both Up in the Air and Meet the Robinsons last night. I think it may be a Ninja Assassins night today.

How was your weekend?

Written by Steve Miller

March 14, 2010 at 4:46 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s fun just wandering around the neighbourhood finding those neat hidden places that isn’t featured in travel books and such.

    My weekend was good, was at Norefjell with the company, which was great!

    And as for today, Sunday, I am just going to relax and get ready for work on Monday morning! πŸ™‚

    Julie

    March 15, 2010 at 12:30 am

  2. Yeah, I loved those pictures you posted of the cabins!!! I need to take Jo up to a Pension!

    Steve

    March 15, 2010 at 6:51 am

  3. Yeah, I plan on doing a lot of exploring and wandering around when I get to the Seoul area. There’s so much to see! Lots of stuff I can Vlog about too. πŸ˜€

    Maurice

    March 15, 2010 at 1:37 pm

  4. It’s cool to see others that know about Nertz. You should definitely check out http://www.playnertz.com/ , the site for the National Nertz Association. There is a bunch of interesting Nertz information, videos, and photos there AND you can play Nertz on-line for free. I recommend it to all Nertz players! So cool. =)

    nertzfan

    March 16, 2010 at 8:08 am


Leave a Reply

