The QiRanger Adventures

Shutter Cal

with 16 comments

Me and Little T

Just before the start of 2010, a friend on YouTube (Raoul), sent Jo and I a message via FaceBook inviting us to partake in a challenge. To take a picture a day for 365 days straight. While Jo takes tons of pictures each day, I rarely do, so I decided to pass on the project. She, however, took it up and has been doing an amazing job.

Each day she takes her camera where ever she goes and finds something unique to her life in Korea. It may be a stenciled bicycle lane, a fruit cup, beer, or even a slice of pizza. Whatever she chooses as her picture of the day, she’s been posting it on FaceBook.

I really have to hand it to her, since it takes a lot of discipline to try to find something unique each day to photograph. It wasn’t long before another friend (Tim) referred her to ShutterCal. The site is specifically designed to host projects such as these (and then throws in a little community action on top of it). Now, in addition to FaceBook, she updates her pictures there. In the two months she’s been working on the project, she’s amassed a small following and many people have favorited pictures. I think they’re awesome (granted, I’m biased) because they really show snapshots of daily life, not some planned out photo shoot. She also takes the project to heart, posting the photo on the day it was taken, not just posting any photo from any day.

ShutterCal also seems to have some great features too. What I find most interesting, is that you can actually order the daily calendars you put up (or see). I assume, that if you put up a high-res image, then the small tear-away calendar would print extremely well. On the back of each sheet is a photo description that the artist uploads with the image. I don’t think you’d really tear the calendar away, since it’s a quite expensive custom print.

I’m bringing this up today, since I’m now starting the project.

Originally I wasn’t going to do it, but one of Jo’s followers kept commenting that I needed to make a calendar. Jo came up with a fun idea… Make a calendar with photos of “Little T”. As shown above, Little T is a small Bear I found at an Alpha store dressed up as a pink cow. I think it’s one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen, and while I may not make it a year, I’m sure I can find a few fun things to do with him!

How was your weekend and/or Monday?

Written by Steve Miller

March 2, 2010 at 7:56 am

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love taking pictures and it means a lot that you like what I come up with! I’m looking forward to seeing your pictures with Little T! ❤

    Jo

    March 2, 2010 at 8:33 am

    • Thanks my love! I’m looking forward to going out today and snapping with you!

      Steve

      March 2, 2010 at 8:37 am

  2. Little T is supercute! 😀

    And I support you in the photo challenge! It’s difficult I am sure, but it’ll be interesting to not just those you show the photos to, but also to yourself, seeing perhaps what you where thinking that day!

    And I can imagine there will be a lot of fun shots with the two of you 😀

    Have a wicked day!

    Julie

    March 2, 2010 at 2:27 pm

  3. I stumbled across your post and coincidently I’ve also been doing a 365 day photo project for 2010. I’d be interested to take a look at Jo’s photo a day album, any links?

    I was unaware of ShutterCal. I like how it arranges your photos in a nice calendar, so I think I’ll give it a go. I just finished uploading the last 62 days.

    Good luck with this little project, my advice is don’t take yourself too seriously, some days are good for photos and while others are just average. For me it’s more about finding something interesting each day, I figure I’ve had a few interesting days so far this year.

    I look forward to seeing some daily photos.

    steve

    March 2, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by. I’m not sure Jo wants everyone to see her images, but I’ll ask. I for one, am having fun taking pictures with Little T. I think the ShutterCal system is pretty cool. I may even end up buying a year’s worth of calendars at the end.

      Steve

      March 3, 2010 at 8:26 am

    • Hello Steve!
      I like that we both try to find something interesting every day. I’ll definitely check out your site.
      Here’s my shuttercal account: http://shuttercal.com/calendar/Nyxnalia/ Enjoy! 😀

      Jo

      March 3, 2010 at 6:39 pm

  4. that’s really cool…thanks for stopping back in…. been a terrible blogger and lurker recently…but will try… need to look at the shuttercal thingy… looks like Jo has her niche in photography!

    jy

    March 5, 2010 at 7:23 am

    • Yeah she has! She has some mad skillz when it comes to using a camera. I think it could be a lot of fun for you and A to do something cute each day!!!

      Steve

      March 6, 2010 at 10:55 am

  5. it is a really cute bear 😉

    I love the project! Keep us posted about the calendar hehe

    I’ll go take a look at shutter cal. THanks for the tip 🙂

    Mélanie

    March 5, 2010 at 9:30 am

    • You are welcome! It’s an awesome little site with a great set of features!

      Steve

      March 5, 2010 at 3:08 pm

  6. Hey Steve!
    Thanks for blogging about ShutterCal! Enjoy your project 😉

    Scott

    March 8, 2010 at 9:17 am

  7. Do you use a premium wordpress theme?

    Wahrsagen Online

    March 8, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    • Nope. This is one of the standard ones that they provide.

      Steve

      March 9, 2010 at 8:35 am

  8. I’ve used shutter cal and i hate it. Boring dumb idea for a website if you ask me

    Dave

    May 28, 2010 at 10:38 am


Leave a Reply

