The QiRanger Adventures

Coffee in the Office

with 6 comments

Coffee in the Office Video

Everyone knows I love coffee. I mean I really love coffee to a point that trying various blends and ways of brewing it is a passion of mine. Since being in Korea, I’ve come to rely on my handy-dandy coffee presses – both at home and here at the office. However, most people in Korea do not drink brewed coffee. In fact, the most common type of coffee consumed in Korea is a variety of Instant Coffee.

While there are the canisters of instant that I’m used to back in the US (e.g., Folger’s, Sanka, etc.) what you’ll find in the office are Coffee Sticks. These tubes have a small amount of coffee, sugar, and cream in the packet. You simply pour it into a 6oz. cup and mix using the tube. I find it very sweet and can’t really consume it, but from time to time I’ll have one and then add a spoonful of Folger’s to make it a little stronger.

On a completely different note, the weather here is crazy. We’re heading into spring full force with the weather topping out today at 64F/18C! I love it!

Too bad it wont last with the rain that’s being forecast tomorrow! Oh well!

How is your day going?

Written by Steve Miller

February 24, 2010 at 3:58 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can handle instant coffee if that’s the only option available to me, but I prefer a properly brewed cup for sure!

    And you’re lucky about the weather!! Here it’s MINUS 18 C ๐Ÿ˜›

    Julie

    February 24, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    • Yeah, I’m not a fan of the instants…. but I’ll take what I can get sometimes!

      Steve

      February 24, 2010 at 7:45 pm

  2. Man, those instants are pretty low quality. I used to drink them a few years back but luckily these days there is a coffee shop directly below my academy and the coffee is great and cheap. Maybe one day there will be a big improvement on the taste. I am continually amazed at how many coffee shops there are in Korea, far more than back in the UK…

    Gavin

    February 25, 2010 at 11:41 am

    • The US has quite a few. I still prefer to have mine made fresh in my office! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Steve

      February 25, 2010 at 3:32 pm

  3. I would love to change your mind about instant coffee. I have the best instant coffee there is and best of all, it’s organic and it is healthy for you. If you are a coffee lover you should try this coffee. I drink it myself, mocha that is. I can drink this coffee all day without even getting the gitters. The best benefit to this coffee is it keeps my migraines away. Thank is a plus. Try it, i can almost ganurantee it. Please consider…..bridgettford.organogold.com

    Bridgett

    March 25, 2010 at 7:23 am

    • Perhaps one day… but I enjoy having a few pots a day… without the jitters.

      Steve

      March 25, 2010 at 9:46 am


Leave a Reply

