The QiRanger Adventures

Eight Days

with 7 comments

Hey there!

The weekend is over and Jo and I are back to our normal schedules… well just for today. The remainder of the week is going to be filled with lots and lots of activities! But before I go into that, let’s recount the last few days.

First, Jo and I had a great New Year’s Day. We slept in and then made some calls to family and friends. Since most of our family celebrates the Lunar New Year (Chinese New Year in this case), it was great to connect with them on this special day. Probably my favorite part of the calls is talking to her dad. He’s such a great man and nothing gets me going like his laugh. In fact, there was one point where he’s say something (while on speaker phone) and I’d parrot it from the loft, which would then make him laugh… and so the cycle went.

Jo and I actually spent most of the day at the 찜질방 (jjimjilbang) or sauna. We arrived there about 1pm and made a deal that we’d meet up again around an hour later. During that time, we retired to our separate areas for the scrub and pool enjoyment. Then we connected at 2pm for lunch and some serious lounging. We hit a few rooms and then settled on playing cards in the main room. I got Jo a bottle of Cider, but I opted for a few cans of Cass while we played Cribbage and Nertz. In fact, during our card playing time, we had a small audience. He was a very cute boy named Nathan. He spent 7 years in New York and now is living back home in Korea. He often would run up to us, watch, and then run away. His older sister (10 years old) also came to join us.

It was a great day. Monday was also fantastic, since we made it into Seoul to do a Costco run. We haven’t been in a month (or more) and really needed a few things. Number one on my list was some coffee beans to throw into the grinder, but that was only part of the extensive list that Jo and I had been compiling. We purchased a wide selection of meats for use later and one rotisserie chicken (we put that to immediate use).

So that brings us up to today…

As I said, today is a normal day… but the rest of the week really isn’t. Tomorrow morning, Jo and I will be making the trek into Seoul at the crack of dawn to visit the US Embassy. This is part one of our marriage requirement. There we will get the documents I need to be married in Korea. Tomorrow, we’ll repeat the process, but visit her Embassy. We’ve double and triple checked everything, so we’re hoping that the visits go smooth. Once we get our embassies to sign off on our eligible status, then we can go to the Korean Government and get married (Step 3). The final step will be heading over to Immigration to have Jo’s visa changed to a Spouse (F-3) and apply for an Alien Registration Card.

As you can imagine, I’ll be quite busy this week, so I may just be updating via vlogs on YouTube, rather than writing here, since time will be quite limited.

That’s it for me today. how was your weekend and do you have anything special planned this week?

Written by Steve Miller

February 16, 2010 at 11:28 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you guys have had fun. Good luck with the marriage/visa process!

    politicalmo

    February 16, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    • Thanks! Working hard on getting everything done!

      Steve

      February 16, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  2. Sounds like you had a fun time!

    Good luck with the visa procedures… I know how hard it can be. I had to apply back in August (but in Egypt) and it was so stressful. They have a high visa fraud rate there, I don’t think Seoul has that problem so hopefully everything goes smoothly! 🙂

    Autumn

    February 16, 2010 at 10:43 pm

  3. Hello! Thank you for stopping by my blog. Goodness me, it sounds so complicated to get married overseas, wish you and Jo the best! 🙂

    elle

    February 16, 2010 at 10:58 pm

  4. I love coffee and I believe I’m a coffee addict. Recently have purchased a Burr Coffee Grinder. Burr Coffee Grinders definetely change your taste if you like gourmet coffees. I suggest to anyone who loves coffee like me. Greetings from LA

    Dawne Chheng

    February 26, 2010 at 2:48 am

  5. It’s cool to see others that know about Nertz. You should definitely check out http://www.playnertz.com/ , the site for the National Nertz Association. There is a bunch of interesting Nertz information, videos, and photos there AND you can play Nertz on-line for free. I recommend it to all Nertz players! So cool. =)

    nertzfan

    March 14, 2010 at 2:35 am

    • So cool! I will definitely check it out! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

      Steve

      March 14, 2010 at 9:58 am


Leave a Reply

