The QiRanger Adventures

Valentine’s Day

with 10 comments

Growing up in the United States, I have love-hate relationship with the holiday. I never really bought into the idea that it was a love filled holiday and resented having to make cards for everyone in class. But on the other hand, I really did enjoy all the chocolates and candies that were handed out in the days immediately preceding the 14th.

As I got older, I didn’t like the fact that men were supposed to go all-out and get expensive gifts, flowers, have fancy dinners, etc. to show their significant others that they love them. My thinking was that’s something that should be done on a regular basis and not to be dictated by some fabricated holiday. Today, I enjoy sharing small, meaningful gifts with Jo as often as I can. In fact, I gave her gift a little early, since I knew we’d be able to put it to good use tonight.

However, here in Korea, Valentine’s Day is celebrated differently. Girls are expected to give out chocolate candies to boys in their classes or in the office. Usually, they’ll even go through the trouble of hand-crafting the confectionary treat. The notion of expensive gifts really isn’t prevalent in the culture and the boys get a pass on the whole day.

A month later (March 14th) White Day comes around. On this day, the boys who received chocolates on Valentine’s Day are supposed to reciprocate and give girls candies (not necessarily chocolate). Unlike the girls, the boys are only obligated to give candies to the girls that gave them chocolate.

Still, a month later on April 14th, is Black Day. If a person didn’t receive a gift on either Valentine’s Day or White Day, they are to go to a restaurant and order jjajangmyeon (짜장면) – a black noodle dish that leaves your mouth blackened – and mourn their single status.

So as we near Valentine’s Day, I’d like to know how you’re going to spend it?

Written by Steve Miller

February 11, 2010 at 7:06 pm

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I already commented on your Youtube video, but I’ll comment here as well! 🙂

    I too pretty much have a hate-relationship with the day, and think that one should show the people one love them every day, and not on one day a year…

    So, as every year, I won’t be celebrating the day, it’s just a regular day for me 🙂 Even when I had a boyfriend I didn’t celebrate it 😛

    Julie

    February 12, 2010 at 1:47 am

    • Wow! A comment in both places!!!

      I know what you mean. I hated feeling obliged to do something on a particular day. That’s why I always tried to do something special as often as I could… but in unexpected ways. Besides, I never can hold out until Valentine’s Day. I always end up giving gifts early anyway!

      Steve

      February 12, 2010 at 8:35 am

  2. V-Day, huh?

    Well, I’ve never celebrated it. I can’t say I won’t if I have a boyfriend, because I like the idea of having an official day (sort of), where we have to force ourselves to do something romantic. I’m not saying the man should be the one buying things. In fact, it’s either both or none, but it can be just a dinner at home, a surprise of any kind… something sweet. I’m a romantic, what can I say :p

    I don’t think moments like those should be reserved for V Day, I think it should happen on their own through the year, but since we don’t always have the time or think about doing nice thing for our beloved partner in life, I think V Day can be a good start.

    But I have a love-hate relationship with it as well, as I’ve never really discovered all those great things, so maybe I’m just dreaming 😉

    Mélanie

    February 13, 2010 at 5:11 am

    • I agree… a set-aside day just seems too forced… but a special day… isn’t that what anniversaries are for????

      LOL

      I like being romantic as well!! I’m really going to enjoy this weekend with Jo.

      Steve

      February 13, 2010 at 10:05 am

  3. Valentine’s Day isn’t really that important to me, I like to see special things from my husband through the year showing his love for me and the same from me for him.

    We are separated this year, but I did write him a heartfelt card. He didn’t expect it. He prefers those small things rather than gifts and so.

    Before we got married, I wrote him a letter every day leading up to our wedding. 😀

    Autumn

    February 16, 2010 at 7:46 am

    • That’s very sweet. So sorry to hear that you’re separated from your husband. In December, I wrote a letter to Jo and placed it in the apartment each morning for her to find. Those small things go a lot farther than any big gift.

      Steve

      February 16, 2010 at 8:32 am

  4. Thanks!

    San Diego short sale

    March 6, 2010 at 6:42 am

  5. outstanding post! great advice, will take on board!

    Topsoil Wilmington

    March 7, 2010 at 5:43 am

  6. I was suggested this web site via my cousin. I am now not certain whether this submit is written by means of him as no one else recognise such certain approximately my trouble. You are wonderful! Thank you!

    muscle maximizer

    August 14, 2011 at 5:42 pm

  7. this was a prodigious cut thanks for the help.

    support

    December 15, 2011 at 9:36 am


Leave a Reply

