The QiRanger Adventures

Picky

with 6 comments

Interlaced Image

As I’ve spent more time working on my YouTube videos, I’ve become sensitive and appreciative to film makers that consider what medium people use to watch the end product. In the past, it really hasn’t mattered much, as all formats looked the same. However, with the advent of Progressive Scan and High Definition, it is no longer the case.

What I hate these days is when people record images and fail to de-interlace them. It’s normal to see this on YouTube, as not everyone knows how to do this. Heck, I even have failed to do this from time to time. But, what I do think is inexcusable, is when I see it in Mass Media.

Now it isn’t something I saw a lot of in the United States, but here in Korea, I have seen it on a number of occasions. In fact, I saw it yesterday while waiting for a friend. It was on a major broadcaster and the whole program wasn’t de-interlaced. In an age where most people have HD televisions (at least in Korea), the constant movement of the kids and presenters (it was an English learning program) proved to be quite distracting. Hands, faces, and props were distorted.

Ugh.

Running all footage through a de-interlace filter (or better yet, shooting in 1080p) should be standard for major broadcasters. Failing to do so, makes their products look cheap and lowers the overall production quality. If they’re still using CRTs for production playback, they need to upgrade their systems to reflect changing times. I know once I started doing so, I found my end product reached a larger audience and people were far more appreciative of the time and effort that went into producing the content.

Sorry about that little rant, but I hate seeing major production companies taking the easy way out and not being called on it! On that note… what’s one thing that really bothers you about the way television is produced these days? For me, it’s those damn channel identifiers in the corner.

Written by Steve Miller

January 28, 2010 at 9:29 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have no idea what any of these words mean except that no one likes blurry images made by lazy broadcasters.

    Sloe

    January 28, 2010 at 10:30 am

    • Maybe I’ll make a video about it! But I agree!!! I hate lazy bastards!!!

      Steve

      January 28, 2010 at 11:46 am

  2. It’s always annoying watching crappy produced videos. For me it’s a major page exit factor, even if the content is something I would be interested in.

    What really bothers me about Norwegian TV is that the talk audio is WAY too low. So when watching a Norwegian produced program, during the talk session I have to increase the volume, but then when they add other audio sounds (songs, sound effects etc.), it gets too LOUD 😛 So I’ll have to constantly have my finger on the remote control to control the audio 😛

    Julie

    January 29, 2010 at 2:19 am

    • Ugh, that would really get me. I know that’s something I try to do in my videos is make sure that all the tracks are close to the same level (or at least fit within the desired range). I also agree that poor production can rapidly send me elsewhere!

      Steve

      January 29, 2010 at 8:24 am

  3. lol Don’t apologize for ranting. Ranting can be fun sometimes and this is one of those times 😉

    Since I live in Canada, I’m not sure I get really what you mean. On YouTube, I guess I do see it more often, it anniys me a little, but since I don’t own a super camera myself, I don’t see it as much I guess 😉 But I understand. when you are into something really much, you get more sensitive to everything related to it. You get more perfectionnist, therefore criticize more.

    Julie: It’s the same here.. not all the time, but it is. And different from channel to channel so it can be loud on a channel and not enough on another. THAT can be annoying indeed! lol

    Mélanie

    January 29, 2010 at 6:21 am

    • I didn’t see it on US networks (and on YouTube I don’t care as much since it is a hobby site)… but for a major broadcaster to do it and throw it up on TV… it just really bugs me.

      Steve

      January 29, 2010 at 8:25 am


Leave a Reply

