The QiRanger Adventures

Monday Mornings…

with 4 comments

Dongnimmun

The work week is officially here and I am very happy. Not because I am going to work, but because it’s the last of the Backpack classes. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve enjoyed teaching the students in the class (and the extra pay that will come with it), but I really hate what it does to my schedule. Normally, teaching for a private academy allows you some great freedom during the day. I mean, usually I don’t go into work until 3pm and then start teaching at 4pm. This gives me the entire day to do chores, explore, and most importantly read and work out. As it stands now, I only have about 30 minutes in the morning to exercise rather than what I’m used to having.

Over the weekend, Jo and I had a blast. Saturday saw us get together with another English Teacher and head over to Yongsan Electronics Market. We were just looking around for a few things to pick up after payday (vacuum) and the other teacher was looking for a new camera. I also wanted to scope out a few mobile phones, since Jo may be needing one soon and I wanted to see what models were available there because I may drop my SK plan and join up with KT when I get her phone. The excursion was a great success for our friend, in that not only did she pick up a new camera, but a rice cooker as well (everyone should have a rice cooker).

That evening, we chilled at home finishing off season two of Veronica Mars. Jo has introduced me to that show and we’ve been plowing through the seasons. We have one season left and then we’ll have to find something new to watch on Tuesday/Thursday nights (and the weekends). We tried watching Leverage, but neither of us was that into it.

Sunday, we met another couple and headed into Seoul. We made three stops: Dongnimmun Park, Seodeomun Prison, and Gyeonghuimun. The three sites are relatively close in the north-western part of Seoul and very cheap to get into (only Seodeomun charges admission). Last night I imported the video from the excursion and will begin editing it this afternoon. I’m really excited to see what Jo and I came up with, since we collaborated on much of the video. I’m also excited, since I found new Final Cut Pro settings that allow me to use the high resolution modes and not have crappy playback.

So… what did you do this weekend?

Written by Steve Miller

January 25, 2010 at 7:13 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I didn’t do anything this weekend really other than homework. I’m doing an assignment which includes making a program logic model for my Program Evaluation and Performance Measurement course. Then I have to do some reading for my history course on pirates (yarr).

    That’s cool that Jo is contributing to your videos now. I’m interested in seeing her contributions!

    politicalmo

    January 25, 2010 at 11:41 am

    • It’s great to have some help on the videos!

      Hope the studying is going well as well!

      Steve

      January 25, 2010 at 1:11 pm

  2. As much as I can understand right now, I think you’re right!

    Hungover Guy

    January 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  3. Thanks for writing about this. There’s a mass of solid tech info on the internet. You’ve got a lot of that info here on your web site. I’m impressed – I try to keep a couple blogs fairly current, but it’s a struggle sometimes. You’ve done a solid job with this one. How do you do it?

    Kristian Mattias

    February 4, 2010 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

