The QiRanger Adventures

Repair Land…

with 16 comments

Busan (부산), South Korea

And so it is… Today is the day I take my little laptop in again to be repaired at the UBASE facilities. I figured, I’d have them do a few other things to make sure everything is up to snuff before my AppleCare expires next month. Unfortunately, that also means that this is the last entry for a while… but I do have some really cool updates (saving the best for last)!

The first little story to tell revolves around social networking. For years, I’ve been a member on Red vs.Blue. I joined the site when they were making the Blood Gulch Chronicles and stuck around for quite some time. Over the years I met some great friends there and we met in person during the Super Bowl last year in Vegas. Some of the friends on that site, live too far away, but we still keep in touch via Skype and messages.

Well, this past weekend, I got a little help from an online friend. Jo and I went to Costco with a few friends. We needed to do some shopping and get her added to my account. When we went to the Membership counter, they asked for proof that we were married or that we lived together. Since Jo is here on a Tourist Visa and doesn’t have an Alien Card all would have been lost… if it weren’t for my friend Jack. He sent us a Christmas Card and addressed it to us both. That was good enough for the ladies at the counter and now Jo has her own Korean Costco Card (good world-wide). Thanks again Jack!

Continuing on that vein… I got a random Facebook Friends Request the other day (I get a lot from YouTube). I didn’t recognize the name, so I checked it out. It turns out the person was a friend of a friend, so I accepted it… turns out this individual is here in Korea on business for a few weeks and down south in Busan. He asked if we could get together and buy me a drink. Who am I to refuse? Rather than have him come up here, I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to explore Busan with Jo for the weekend. So Friday night/Saturday morning we’re going to hop on the train and enjoy the day with some new friends and do a little exploring. Jo’s already found us a place to stay and we’ll be making our reservations today.

Since we’re going to Busan… I’m going to make a travelblog to capture the day. I’ll be using the new camera to do it as well. I’ve also recently found some new things about the device, which I’m really happy about. While recording at 24mbs creates excellent video quality, after expanding it with AIC, the file sizes are huge (gigabytes in size). Also the uncompressed bitrates are massive! I can play the files with no problem on my system, but Final Cut chokes on them. I recently found out that recording the files at a resolution of 12mps or less, still creates a great movie file… but more importantly, Final Cut can read them as native files (after the AIC export) and I don’t have to render them in program to edit. This is a massive time-saver (and very geeky of myself… I know).

I discovered all this while making the first of two UCCs for my intensive class. I still don’t know what I’m going to do for my second video, but you can see my students and experience the Backpack Song for yourself. It took about 45 minutes to shoot the video, since the kids are so young and were going every which way but loose. Trying to get them to understand how a green screen works was almost impossible. Needless-to-say, I won’t be using that in my second video. I still have one more to do, and I’ll probably be using my external mic to record dialog with them. But that will be next week!

The last little update is a bit of good great news! Jo originally came out here on a Tourist Visa for 50 days. Since we’re still going through all the red tape to get married, her visa was set to expire next week. We called Immigration to see if there would be a way to extend her visit. They said she would be able to stay a full 90 days. So we went down to the office, filled out the paperwork, and got her visit extended. Now she’ll be here through March! I just hope we can get all the wedding stuff finished by then!

Ok, this has gone on long enough. I’ll see you all on the flip side when I get my computer back!

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved how Jack wrote who the card is for! I’m glad Jo is acceptable for the Costco lady. 🙂
    I’m very excited to get Styx back and to go to Busan this weekend! ❤

    Jo

    January 12, 2010 at 7:52 am

    • Ditto to all! I love how we get to travel this weekend together!!!!

      Steve

      January 12, 2010 at 7:57 am

  2. I am so glad to hear that Jo is going to stay longer, giving you time to prepare the wedding. Time to hurry then 😉

    Have fun meeting this friend of friend and enjoy this ‘laptop break’. Sometimes, those are needed 🙂

    Mélanie

    January 12, 2010 at 11:58 am

    • LOL – it is a laptop. A wonderful Macbook Pro 17″ workhorse. I can’t wait to have it back. There’s something to be said about having all your things at your fingertips. I’m using Jo’s spare PC at work (an HP Laptop that has had lots of problems). I’m thankful for it… but as Jo will quickly attest to… once you have a Mac and you have to put it in the shop for a few days… you’re eager to get it back!

      Steve

      January 12, 2010 at 4:49 pm

  3. **I said laptop, but erh… I meant computer (since I don’t know if you own a laptop or desktop). 😉

    Mélanie

    January 12, 2010 at 11:59 am

  4. I’ve been to Busan (briefly), it seems like a nice city! I’m sure you guys will have a great time there.

    politicalmo

    January 12, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    • That is does. I can’t wait to go there and enjoy the city!

      Steve

      January 12, 2010 at 4:50 pm

  5. Can’t wait to see how you document Busan. It truly is a great city!

    Jason

    January 13, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    • I’m looking forward to exploring it. It should be a fun little trip!

      Steve

      January 13, 2010 at 2:51 pm

  6. Thanks for writing about this. There’s a lot of solid tech information on the internet. You’ve got a lot of that info here on your website. I’m impressed – I try to keep a couple blogs somewhat ongoing, but it’s a struggle sometimes. You’ve done a big job with this one. How do you do it?

    Jaylin Imram

    January 30, 2010 at 2:08 am

    • I really enjoy the writing process and have been doing it one way or another for about 16 years (since 1993 or so). I usually try to find topics that interest me to write about.

      Steve

      January 30, 2010 at 8:12 am

  7. Fine blog. I got a lot of effective data. I’ve been watching this technology for awhile. It’s fascinating how it keeps changing, yet some of the core elements remain the same. Have you seen much change since Google made their most recent acquisition in the field?

    Ziya Fortunato

    January 30, 2010 at 3:29 am

  8. Great article. There’s a lot of good data here, though I did want to let you know something – I am running Mac OS X with the latest beta of Firefox, and the layout of your blog is kind of quirky for me. I can read the articles, but the navigation doesn’t work so well.

    Bert Hermanus

    January 30, 2010 at 10:04 am

    • Thanks for stopping by. That’s odd that you have a problem with the layout. I’m also running Mac OSX with FF 3.5.7 and everything is normal and functional for me. Perhaps there’s problem in the way the window is shaped?

      Steve

      January 30, 2010 at 12:09 pm

  9. Hallo, wirklich hervorragender Bericht und ein sehr guter Tipp von dir, lese dein Blog allgemein sehr gern. Habe mir jetzt ein neuen PC gekauft und hierbei funktioniert die Kommentarfunktion in deinem Blog nicht, scheint allgemein unter Chrome nicht zu funktionieren.

    Ronja

    February 6, 2010 at 9:18 pm


Leave a Reply

