The QiRanger Adventures

First!

with 5 comments

Seoul Tower

I hope that everyone is continuing to have a great first weekend in 2010. Jo and I are enjoying our last few days of vacation and took the opportunity to travel with some friends into Seoul on 010110. Our destination: Namsan Seoul Tower.

It’s a large needle sitting on top of Namsan Mountain in the middle of a large park and adjacent to the remnants of the Seoul Fortress Wall. It’s also one of the most recognized landmarks around Seoul, since it can be seen from everywhere.

One of the things I really like about the Seoul Tower area is the park. There is a great network of trails up, down, and across the mountain, that allows the pedestrian to explore some very historic areas of central Seoul. On our visit, we opted to not do that for two reasons:

1) It was below freezing.

2) Even though my socks were doubled, my toes were freezing off.

We DID, however, opt to hike up the mountain from the National Theater and grabbed some great shots of the freshly fallen snow. Like most mountain trails here in Korea, they are really done up right with some great wooden accents and plenty of benches to rest and relax on. My favorite places to stop for a bit are the shaded pavilions where you can catch a nice little snooze in the summer.

When we made it up to the top of the trail, we paused for a bit so that I could warm up my toes and peruse the gift store. Jo and I quickly found two items we couldn’t live without: a cellphone charm of the tower to add to our Christmas Tree next year and a lock.

Now purchasing a lock at a gift shop may sound a bit strange, but there’s a long tradition of couples purchasing locks and affixing them to the railings around the base of the tower. In facts, the locks are sold without keys (in many cases) as a sign of everlasting love. So Jo and I found a little cute lock (without a key) and took it to the overlook.

We then bought our tickets and went up the tower.

I thought it was amazing how fast the elevators took you up to the observation deck. I mean, one second you’re in the basement… then a few later you’re 370m meters up in the air. Like all towers, there are restaurants, cafes and gift shops, but what really makes the W7000 ticket worth while is the view. I don’t recall how long we spent up there, but it was long enough to really get a good feel for the city. We even got to see the sun set and Seoul come to life at night.

The following day we returned to Seoul to see Avatar in 3D at the Gangnam CGV. We had been hearing from friends around the globe (and my mother especially) that it was an awesome film – one that should be seen in the new 3D theaters. I have to agree. While the story isn’t new, the graphics are stunning. They are even more spectacular in digital 3D (I think that this is the first 3D movie I’ve seen since House of Wax in the 1970s). If you haven’t seen the film… fork over the cash and do it. This is a film that should be seen on the big screen. The pacing is great and doesn’t seem like a 3 hour film.

Written by Steve Miller

January 3, 2010 at 10:14 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Shots. Seoul Tower is an awesome place. I agree with your thoughts on Avatar. I loved it~!

    Jason

    January 3, 2010 at 11:03 am

    • 😉 It’s a great place to go. I really need to return in the spring and ride the cable cars!

      Steve

      January 3, 2010 at 11:46 am

  2. Lovely photos! I’ve heard about the locks before, and it’s great that you and Jo got the opportunity to hang one up! 😀

    I love those observation towers, I went to one in Kyoto once and it was awesome! I could see almost the entire city!

    Julie

    January 3, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    • Yeah, we were very happy to have been able to put up a lock on the tower.

      Steve

      January 4, 2010 at 9:44 am

  3. I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines :). Check out the link in my name. That links to a tool that really helped me rank high in google. This way even more people can enjoy your posts and nothing beats a big audiance 😉

    Ebonie Moorehead

    February 1, 2010 at 3:18 am


Leave a Reply

