The QiRanger Adventures

Cold

with 9 comments

Today is quite a nice day… because for once it is nearly above freezing. Two weeks ago, the weather here in the Seoul area was wonderful… that all changed last week when winter descended on the Land of the Morning Calm with a vengeance.

For the past week, the weather has been below freezing and past week the overnight lows have been in the single digits (Fahrenheit) and just crazy when you look at the Celsius scale (perhaps I should change everything in to Kelvin to make it seem warmer?).

While I went to college at Northern Arizona University (Flagstaff, AZ), it has been a long time since I’ve lived where it snowed. I really like it, but have forgotten what steps need to be taken to ensure reliable warmth when walking and exploring the outdoors.

For example, I have a great coat and beanie that do a fantastic job of keeping me warm. However, even though I have some thick gloves, there are times when I walk home that my hands still go numb from the cold. Jo and I have been looking for some thicker handwear… but nothing I’ve found even comes close to what I currently have. So I guess, I’ll just keep on the look out and visit a ski shop. The other thing I’ve had to do is keep my feet warm. My single layered socks just don’t cut it… so I’ve returned to the practice of doubling up. It’s been quite effective on the 2km walk to school in the cold and snow.

What I am missing are some long johns. There are times when I’m out walking and the wind just cuts through my jeans. I’ve been out looking for something to wear, but Korean sizes are just too small. The only thing I’ve found in my size thus far are some cooling slicks (which would be great in the summer, but not now). I think Jo and I will have to venture out to Itaewon and do a little shopping for some thermal pants.

On another note, yesterday was the first day back at work. As expected, some of the kids didn’t do their homework. That is to be expected, since they are on school holidays… but at the same time, it is quite frustrating when trying to teach a lesson and no one has read the story… so most of the time is reviewing materials from two weeks ago. That will be the same with today’s classes. I shudder to think what will happen Wednesday when I meet with my class that never does any work.

Oh… to be teaching classes of students who would rather be someplace else…

Written by Steve Miller

December 29, 2009 at 1:08 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Some friends of mine have experienced the “lovely” winter weather on the Canadian Prairies recently. One of my friends who lives in Saskatchewan for Vet School complained of -50C weather after windchill…apparently it hurts to breath at those temps. Another friend was in Edmonton, Alberta for work when it was supposedly the second coldest inhabited place on Earth after somewhere in Siberia one day. I do not envy Prairie folk…sure gives you perspective.

    politicalmo

    December 29, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    • That it does. One of my friends used to live out in Winnipeg and worked for a local news station. He once went out and filmed boiling water being turned into snow instantly due to the cold. I’m glad I don’t live anywhere near those temps!

      Steve

      December 29, 2009 at 5:00 pm

      • Me too! I’m not really a fan of winter personally, not very “Canadian” that way.

        politicalmo

        December 30, 2009 at 6:20 am

        • o.O

          That is quite un-Canadian!!!! I’ll be happy for spring though!

          Steve

          December 30, 2009 at 7:28 am

  2. Temps dropping here too…but never any snow where we are. It snows AROUND us, but not on us… good luck with the winter wear!

    jy

    December 29, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    • We may get some accumulation tonight… Some are saying 4 inches… But I doubt it!

      As for leggings… I have a few ideas!

      Steve

      December 29, 2009 at 6:34 pm

  3. It’s been quite nice here too these two past days, sunny and not snowing! 😀 But on Christmas Eve and Boxing Day it was snowing insanely :S.

    Today it’s cold, it’s around -10C now, and it’s going to get colder when the sun goes down :/ I’m glad I can stay inside 😀

    Good luck on your hunt for warmer winter wear! 😀

    Julie

    December 29, 2009 at 11:09 pm

  4. In the interesting change to the Google Algorithm, this entry is even moreso creative especially to reflect on. Thanks for the information.

    niche keywords

    January 18, 2010 at 9:38 pm


Leave a Reply

