The QiRanger Adventures

Passion

with 6 comments

Over the past few days, Jo and I have been enjoying our sofa, TV, and a copy of The National Parks: America’s Best Idea. I’ve found the experience quite moving, since so much of my youth was spent traveling to these parks with my family… and then later in life serving at Tonto National Monument.

Being here in Korea, makes watching this series very hard for me, since I love the parks and can relate to their noble idea. Seeing the majestic mountains of Yosemite, Yellowstone, The Grand Canyon, etc. just makes me burst out into tears as imagery moves me at my core.

To this day, I love being out in nature. I love living in Korea and seeing the historical sites, but being stuck indoors kills me. I love being outside and experiencing nature. Once the weather returns to a warmer climate, Jo and I will resume our quest to hit as many National Parks in Korea as we can.

Probably my most profound experiences with the National Parks took place in 2006. During a two-week period, I traveled to 16 parks over a course of 3,000 miles. Many of the parks I had visited at one time, but so many more were smaller monuments and parks that were over on the side of the road that I had never seen before. I continue to look back at the photos taken and long to revisit them.

When Jo and I return to the US, we’ll be taking a trip to Yosemite and Yellowstone. Two places she’s never been and two that I love.

What I’d like to know is what is YOUR favorite park or place to visit?

Written by Steve Miller

December 28, 2009 at 10:14 am

Posted in Thoughts

Tagged with , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The Grand Canyon, hands down. 2nd fave might be Mt Rushmore, but I’ve not seen Niagra Falls yet, so answer is subject to change. I love Yosemite and Yellowstone and many others, but those are my faves.

    Liz

    December 28, 2009 at 11:52 am

    • I love hiking in the Grand Canyon. Such a wonderful place to be.

      Steve

      December 28, 2009 at 11:55 am

  2. Yosemite, Grand Canyon, Niagara Falls… all breathtakingly beautiful beyond words. I’d really like to see Monument Valley and places in Utah next…would like to see Yellowstone too… the list goes on and on!

    jy

    December 28, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    • Monument Valley is an amazing place! I went to it with my brothers back in 2005 and then to Valley of the Gods in 2006. Wonderful views.

      Steve

      December 28, 2009 at 2:50 pm

  3. Sounds like a very relaxing activity to do at home on these cold days. Oregon in general feels like a giant national park to me. If you ever get the chance to visit Crater lake or Mt. Bachelor, they’re both beautiful, beautiful expressions of nature.

    Alisha

    December 29, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    • I have been to Crater Lake… Granted it was some 20+ years ago. I think we still have some old photos back home. I love the Parks and can’t wait to explore them with Jo.

      Steve

      December 29, 2009 at 12:12 pm


Leave a Reply

