The QiRanger Adventures

Jo’s Weekend Out

with 6 comments

Jo on the Hwaseong Fortress Wall

Jo’s been here a week, and while the first weekend was spent getting the OfficeTel set up as a home for two, this weekend was spent going out and seeing some of the country.

After a lazy Saturday morning, the two of us jumped on a bus and went over to Suji, where I lived last year. We strolled through the old neighborhood and pointed out key signs of interest. One of the reasons for the trip was to show Jo the Reflexology garden that was near my old apartment. Since I arrived in Suji last year, Jo’s been dreaming about walking on its path… and we took care of that.

It was a little cold, so I opted to keep my shoes on since I had thin socks. Jo, being the fearless adventurer that she is, took off her boots and walked around the stony path. She mentioned several times how much it hurt having the stones dig into the soles of her feet, but afterwards she noted how much better she felt.

From there, we grabbed the Bundang Line and went north to Seoul for a lovely dinner at Dos Tacos. Afterwards, we strolled next door to Frisbee. This is one of many Apple Resellers here in Korea, where we popped in to pick up Jo’s Happy Christmas Anniversary Valentines Wedding Birthday present. I had been planning on getting her a 15″ MacBook Pro for several months. I originally thought about buying a US computer for her, but seeing as how we’re planning on being in Korea for quite some time, I thought it best to get her Mac here so that it would have the Hangeul keyboard installed. I’m a firm believer that having access to several writing methods helps one learn a language faster.

Canon IVIS HFS11

The present was a great success, and as I type this, Jo is sitting across from me working on getting her Mac set up to her specifications. however, I was blown away yesterday when she gave me my Happy Christmas Anniversary Valentines Wedding Birthday present: The Canon HFS11.

I had been looking at this camera for some time, since I’m wanting to move to tapeless recording. What’s even more special is that she got me an extra battery and a wide-angle lens (something that I really needed for vlogging or close shots when doing travel shows. The camera boasts a 64GB internal SSD and an SD card slot that can take an additional 32GB of memory. With the battery set-up that Jo has for me, I can shoot and transfer 5 hours of video on a single charge. I LOVE IT AND HER. But it doesn’t end there! My mother pitched in and got me the extended life battery, which should allow me to shoot and transfer up to 12 hours. This will be great for when Jo and I head out to a Pension for a weekend away. I can’t thank enough these women in my life for these awesome gifts.

Sunday we ventured out to Suwon for church and a trip to the fortress. The map we had had the wrong time for a martial arts performance (the one I saw last year). I had wanted to film it from a different location this time (and with the new camera), but alas Jo and I will have to return to see it again. Since the performance was a bust, we did walk the Fortress walls a bit and took in some great views.

Written by Steve Miller

December 13, 2009 at 10:25 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like you both are having a great time and Jo’s settling in quite well! A seriously digital couple… look at the presents you gave each other! Ha ha… I had no idea such a video camera existed, but hey…there you go. Looking forward to seeing some videos from it.

    jyankee

    December 14, 2009 at 7:17 am

    • She’s more analog than I, but she does love a good computer. As much as I love my new video camera, she loves her assortment of cameras- slim/wide angle cameras, fish-eye lenses, a few 35mm cameras… and the list goes on!

      Steve

      December 14, 2009 at 7:46 am

  2. Sounds like you’re having a great time being together. And congratulations on your successful gift exchanges! Looking forward to seeing some footage from that new camera.

    Alisha

    December 14, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    • It’s a beaut for sure. The wide-angle lens makes a huge difference!

      Steve

      December 14, 2009 at 1:53 pm

  3. Steve,

    I will be sending you my wife’s telephone number. Please have Jo call her and give her some ideas for my Christmas present….HAHHAHA…..Jo did an awesome job and I look forward to seeing some new videos from you!

    Jason

    December 14, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    • Yes she did. Best of all, she found it on EBAY for a fraction of the cost of the US one!

      Steve

      December 14, 2009 at 1:54 pm


Leave a Reply

