The QiRanger Adventures

The First Monday!

with 9 comments

Here's Jo!

Thursday night I left work and hopped onto the M4403 to Kyobo tower. From there I got on the express Metro Nine Line. It was my first time using that metro line, and I have to say, I’m quite impressed with operator. Once at Gimpo Airport, I transferred to the A’REX line to make it to my final destination of Incheon International Airport. I wound up getting there before midnight and hunkered down for my stay.

Thankfully there were several restaurants open (McDonald’s, KFC, Subuko Noodles, etc) and a ton of 24 hour markets, so I was able to get som late night burgers and soju to snack on.

I did manage to get some sleep by laying on the benches in front of the exit as I waited for her… it wasn’t a lot of sleep, but there was some. I simply was too excited to rest at all.

As the morning hours progressed, I saw the flights on the big board announce the all the flights coming in 20-30 minutes earlier than posted.. Except for Jo’s. I was really pissed, since I didn’t know why her flight wasn’t coming early. Then, about an hour before she was schedule to land, the board changed to announce a 20 minute early arrival. I jumped up and down.

Once Jo touched down, it seemed to take for ever (or at least it seemed) before it was time for her to clear customs. Most of the passengers cleared the doors before I got my first glimpse of her. There she was, at the baggage carousel, trying to get her four heavy bags onto the trolley. I have to say, she looked very cute and I wish the guards would have let me pass the gates so I could have helped her.

Finally she made it through the gates and I was complete once more. I wrapped my arms around her and gave her a lovely kiss. It was fantastic!

It wasn’t too long before we made or way to Exit 7 and purchased out Airport Limo tickets back to Dongtan. Without a hitch (other than some longer than expected traffic delays), we made it to the Ramada and checked in. That’s when things started to go wrong.

Between the flight and the breakfast sandwich Jo had, her stomach decided to rebel… This forced her to stay in bed the rest of Friday. I popped back and forth in between classes to make sure she was doing ok and to bring her snacks. After work, I brought home some rice porridge for dinner. She was slowly getting better.

Saturday morning, I started moving things to the apartment and made one trip without her. It was bloody cold. the second trip found us taking all the suitcases to the New, New Digs. Jo then spent the rest of the day unpacking and reorganizing the apartment. We rounded out the day with a trip to Lotte Mart for some groceries and supplies. Sunday we lounged around and mare it out to Emart.

Today, I have work… which Jo will also come and enjoy that experience. Everyone at school (especially the kids) is really looking forward seeing her.

The one problem we now have is that my beloved Skype Phone isn’t working. The 110 power supplies don’t want to work out here (even with converters), so I will be going out to buy two 7.5V DC plugs to activate them. Once we get the apartment settled, then  Jo wants to shoot a new video of everything… That I’m really excited to do with her!

Written by Steve Miller

December 7, 2009 at 7:52 am

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How exciting! You and Jo look very happy together. All the best in your adventures! I’m glad to hear she is feeling better; I can only imagine how uncomfortable it must be to feel jet lagged and sick at the same time! Looking forward to videos from the two of you.

    Alisha

    December 7, 2009 at 7:59 am

    • Thanks! Yeah it was not a fun first two days in Korea for her. I felt completely helpless and I didn’t enjoy it either. I’m thankful now that she’s feeling better and we can go out and explore the town together.

      What’s the latest on your return to Japan?

      Steve

      December 7, 2009 at 8:07 am

      • I’m sure you’ll have a blast together! Enjoy the holidays with your lovely lady!

        I’ll know a little later this week about my return to the land of the rising sun; got an interview lined up tonight, and another one later this week – crossing my fingers!

        Alisha

        December 7, 2009 at 9:22 am

  2. Awesome… what a cute couple! Yeah it is not fun to be knocked down upon first arriving, but, hey you are together and have all the time in the world to explore and do new videos together!

    jyankee

    December 7, 2009 at 10:38 am

    • Yeah… She’s always been behind the scenes… but I’m starting to think I can convince her to be in front of the camera as well!

      Steve

      December 7, 2009 at 10:45 am

  3. Hey there! Just wanted to drop by and say that I am happy for you two. I’ve been watching your videos a lot and have subscribed to this blog RSS feed. Please keep them up and I’ll be sure to look forward to your videos starring both of you now. I hope you guys enjoy your stay!

    etatauri

    December 7, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks for watching and commenting! Jo’s still settling in, but there’s more to come for sure. Jo has already scoped out places she wants to go and I can’t wait to take her there. With some new editing tricks as well!

      Cheers!

      Steve

      December 7, 2009 at 2:50 pm

  4. Sry for being Off-Topic but which Word Press template do you use? Looks cool.

    Phintaita

    January 2, 2010 at 10:59 am

    • No worries!

      The Journalist v1.9 by Lucian E. Marin

      Steve

      January 2, 2010 at 1:34 pm


Leave a Reply

