The QiRanger Adventures

Furnished

with 4 comments

안녕하세요.

As of last night, the Apartment is fully furnished. While the table and chairs I received wasn’t quite what I was looking for, I’ll take it and work with Jo to see what she wants to do with them. The reason I’m not exactly ecstatic about the new furniture, is that since the TV is so low to the ground, I was hoping to get some floor seats and a coffee table to make things flow easier. What I got was a small dining table and two chairs.

I will say that after watching The Amazing Race last night, I did like sitting up higher (eg, not on the floor) and having a real table to eat on is a gem. I think it will work out well. It also fits well in the space I created against the wall. But the thing I enjoy the most is not having to sit on the floor or stairs. Let me tell you, my buttocks were really getting sore from that!

Once Jo gets here (Saturday), I’m really going to enjoy transforming this studio into a home. While she arrives Friday morning, I’ve reserved a hotel for us in Dongtan for the day/night. This way she can rest if needed while I’m at work and we don’t have to stress about getting to the apartment. Plus we can explore the downtown area a bit before work. Saturday, after we get settled, I have a few ideas of what to do around town, but we’ll have to see how she feels. Traveling half-way across the world can take its toll on a body, and the last thing I want to do is over-tire her on her first day here. Heck, even if it’s just lounging around in the apartment, I’ll be as giddy as a kid on Christmas Day.

Yesterday (December 1) was the first day of the new term, which meant whole new classes for me. Well at least in theory. My teaching load went from three classes to two classes on T/Th. The classes that I have are two that I’ve had for the past six months, so nothing was really “new” except the information discussed in class. Unfortunately, the classes did not grow, and in one case, a third of the students were out sick due to A/H1N1. The flu is really hitting schools hard, since overall our school grew by only a hundred since the start of last term (a lot of parents have been pulling kids out from private academies due to the flu). I really hope that the fear subsides, as some of the kids that benefitted most need the extra attention private academies provide.

Today, I have three new classes. My last class, I recall need to psych my self up for, as it is a low-level Grade 6 class that lasts 70 minutes. I struggled for six months with a similar class – and that was for only 50 minutes. I’m not really looking forward to trying to fill the extra 20 minutes. I feel even worse for Naomi (my Korean co-teacher), who has to teach the class the entire 140 minutes on Monday and Friday.

In other news, I’ll be filming my apartment today for the YouTube channel. I’m actually excited to show this apartment, since it is so different from anything else I’ve ever had in Korea. I will also most likely be trekking to Lotte Mart (롯데 마트) to do a little shopping before work. I also need to do a little packing, since I won’t be spending the night here tomorrow, but rather at a hotel near the airport. I’ll go into that in more detail tomorrow… because this is the last night I’ll be alone in the apartment!!!

One last item: I’ve funded a new loan over at Kiva. You can check out Dominador Gonzales’ business by clicking on the link. This loan marks my sixth through the site and also my first loan (picked by Jo) has now been paid back in full!

Whooooo!

Written by Steve Miller

December 2, 2009 at 8:59 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 안냥하세요 (x) ==>> 안녕하세요(o)
    롳데 마트 (x) ===>> 롯데 마트(o)
    I am a korean and living in New York City.I really like to watch your videos. Thank you ! Bye ~

    Kim Andy

    December 2, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    • Thanks for the spot check. I really appreciate it! I’ve corrected the information.

      Steve

      December 2, 2009 at 2:00 pm

  2. Found your videos searching through google getting information on Dongtan. I am actually moving over there in February to teach and your videos have given me some great info and I have a couple of questions. How is the construction in the city at this point and how do you like the city overall?

    Thanks,

    Jeremy

    Jeremy

    December 2, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    • The construction continues and will be doing so for some time. There’s a lot to build. I love it here. The city is very clean and is getting more and more developed. I can’t wait for the CGV to open so we can have or own little movie theater in town (and not have to grab a bus). Have fun when you get here. There’s so much to see and do.

      Steve

      December 2, 2009 at 6:14 pm


Leave a Reply

