The QiRanger Adventures

The New, New Digs

with 8 comments

For the past week, I’ve been living in what I’ve called the New, New Digs. Like Office Tower, this place is an OfficeTel, designed for a single person to live and work on the cheap. It is, in every way an efficiency apartment. However, unlike Office Tower, it does have a loft and features that lend itself having more than one person staying there.

Here's the entry hallway. What's nice about this location is that there's a mirror on the shoe closet door. Best of all, the motion sensor light won't keep me up all night.

This place also has more shoe storage that I could ever dream of. Perfect for two people.

The bathroom is about half the size of the one in Office Tower, but on the plus side, there are two shower wands AND a large downward shower head. In fact, there's more water that I know what to do with. Another great feature, is that I have pretty much unlimited hot water here, as opposed to the 5 minute showers I used to have to take.

The kitchen is about the same, although this does have a gas stove, which is a Godsend. The washer also has a dryer function too. The pull out island makes up for the otherwise lacking counter space.

It did come with a built-in LCD TV, that I hook up to my computer to watch movies on. That is a gret feature!

Stairs going up...

... to the loft.

This is why I moved. The apartment has two distinct living areas and it makes all the difference in the world.

So there you have it… the tour of the new place. I’ll be posting a video tomorrow!

Written by Steve Miller

December 1, 2009 at 5:36 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like it! What’s with the big flower wallpaper??? Ha ha ha… Just kidding. It gives the apartment the kick that it needs. I am hopeful that Jo will like it as well!

    jyankee

    December 1, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    • Me too! I’m not a big fan of the flowers… but I’ll take it in the end.

      Steve

      December 1, 2009 at 7:32 pm

  2. The new place looks great! Are you still fairly close to your school?

    Jason

    December 2, 2009 at 1:07 am

    • I really like the new places. There are some great improvements, but some other areas that are lacking. I’m about 2km from school now… so that means some extra exercise, which I’m all for. At this rate, on days I go to the gym (in good weather), I put foot-to-pavement on the order of 8 miles each day.

      Steve

      December 2, 2009 at 7:35 am

  3. Such neatness is uncalled for.. 😉

    JimmerSD

    December 2, 2009 at 2:39 am

    • LOL- I am a clean freak when it comes to my living spaces. In fact, one of the things I detest is a messy room.

      AND THIS FROM THE KID THAT CALLED CLEANING HIS ROOM STUFFING EVERYTHING IN THE CLOSET!

      Steve

      December 2, 2009 at 7:36 am

  4. Oh goodness! I love the shoe closet right by the door, the sleeping loft and the flat screen tv. The kitchen leaves a lot to be desired, but if you guys aren’t cooks, then why waste the resources! 🙂 And hey, you only have to live with the wallpaper for 6 months, right? She’ll be there in a couple of days and it looks as though you’re all ready for her. Everyone loves to feel so welcomed; she will too!

    Liz

    December 2, 2009 at 3:23 am

    • In studio apartments like these, this is actually quite a large cooking area. Last year, I had two side-by-side burners and that was great, but could never use them- because the heat from the gas range was too much for the aircon to handle. This time, I can make due with the one burner. Jo and I may get a tabletop burner and a toaster oven… so we’re adding to it. I love to cook, although it’s limiting what I can really do… and there are quite a few places where two people can eat for less than $10 and still have it be healthy food.

      Steve

      December 2, 2009 at 7:38 am


Leave a Reply

