The QiRanger Adventures

T-Minus Four

with 4 comments

I am down-right giddy.

That’s right, I said it. I can’t believe that in four days Jo will be here. There’s still a lot to do on both our ends, but for the most part, we’re ready to settle down for the next six months here in Dongtan. Tomorrow, KT is stopping by to assist with the installation of my Apple Airport Router.

Since I come from an IT background, it is hard for me to call technical support for something so easy, but the net here in Korea is a little bit different. Each connection is tied to a single MAC address, so every time you change a computer, you have to enter a UserID and Password to access the Internet. Up until now, I’ve had no problem using the connection on my Macbook Pro; however, I’m starting to set things up for the future when we’ll have multiple devices online at the same time.

I tried to get the information that was needed to log onto the KT network with the router, but alas, it took me to a new screen that requested additional information. Information that I was not in possession of.

So tomorrow at 10am, they’ll come to my apartment and spend about 30 seconds typing in passwords so that I can access the net wirelessly. Oh the joy of sitting up in the loft and chatting on Skype! I can’t wait.

Tomorrow is also the day that I’ll be receiving some much-needed sitting equipment. Up until now, I’ve been sitting on the tiled floor or stairs… and quite frankly, my buttocks can’t take it any more. I need something soft to rest my cheeks on. What’s supposed to arrive is some sort of futon that will sit on the floor and allow us to be comfortable. We need this because the TV is bolted into the wall (a flat panel LCD) at such a low-level that anything higher would cause neck problems. A dining table should arrive by the middle of next week.

Once I get the ‘sofa’ installed, then I take some pictures and a video to show you where we’ll be living.

Have I mentioned how excited I am to have Jo come??? I can’t wait!

Written by Steve Miller

November 30, 2009 at 6:13 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Only about a gazillion times! Ha ha. I’m really happy for you. Can feel your excitement over here. You’d better get that post up when she gets there!!!!

    jyankee

    November 30, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    • I’ll see what I can do. I’ll be away from the computer that weekend, since there’s a lot to do… and she’s shy in front of the camera. But I know I want to do at least one video with her.

      Steve

      December 1, 2009 at 7:46 am

  2. I’m so happy for you my friend! My wife and I suffered through a long distance marriage for a time. I gained 35lbs and she developed an ice cream addiction….actually I gained more once she came home and she is one day at a time on the ice cream…

    Cheers!

    JimmerSD

    November 30, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    • It’s rough to say the least. I can’t stand it!!!! I’ve been fortunate to be keeping the weight off… only because it’s so far to work 😉

      Steve

      December 1, 2009 at 7:51 am


Leave a Reply

