The QiRanger Adventures

Five Months…

with 2 comments

Say Kimchi!I can’t believe it. I’m sitting here on November 1st. the time has really gone quickly not that I’m back in the Land of the Morning Calm. For those not keep track of the time in-country, this marks five months teaching English in Dongtan. That’s right, I’m almost halfway through my contract.

That being said, I’m starting to look to the future and what next year will bring. I do love my job and the school. I’ve found Dongtan to be a wonderful place to live and work and really don’t want to move elsewhere. I have only one month left in my flat before I do move into a new, larger place… and I really don’t want to have to do it again.

But what will I be doing next year, or even in 2010?

I have a few ideas… some of them I will share here. First, I will continue to blog- recounting my experiences here in Korea in an effort not only to help those that wish to teach abroad, but to educate the world about what Korea really is. I will also continue to do some broadcasting from time to time for local media. Unfortunately, I can’t do it full-time, since I’m on an E-2 visa, and that prohibits me from getting a second job. I may look at trying to get another type of visa next year that would allow me to do other things.

By far the best and biggest change will take place next month. Jo will be arriving on December 3rd and then for the next 50 days, we’ll be running around to various embassies, ward offices, and immigration offices to get her visa status changed so that she can spend the remainder of my contract with me here in Korea. Each day builds the excitement. I can’t wait for her to get here and for us to start our life together in this wonderful country.

I’m not sure where our first joint trip will be (aka the honeymoon), since it looks like our school holidays will actually take place before we get married. I have a feeling we’ll jet down to Jeju or Busan for a short visit. At it turns out, it looks like we’ll take care of the final marriage documents on December 29th and then submit her paperwork to Immigration thereafter.

I’m also contemplating bringing back the QiRanger Report to YouTube in 2010, which means I’ll moste likely do some filming in Seoul for the intro to take advantage of the HD settings on the computer. I’m also thinking about migrating off the WordPress site and hosting my own blog next year. I’m not sure I really want to do that, but we’ll see what happens. I’ve found that I really do enjoy writing these days. I’ve also settled into making more and more of my videos as well.

One thing I am not happy about is the state of my eye infection. It’s been a month, and still not revolved. I’m hoping that it is done in the next two weeks, as I really miss wearing my contact lenses. But the nice thing is that I haven’t missed my sunglasses, which I lost at Bongeunsa (well, lost is such a hard word… I set them down and failed to pick them up). I should also be finishing the introduction work on the documentary work this next week, which then free up a lot of time to get back to exploring and writing about Korea. I will hold off on some locations, since I want to experience them with Jo. I think the first trip to a Korean Folk Village will be an awesome one… and I can’t wait to share that experience with Jo.

Written by Steve Miller

November 1, 2009 at 11:25 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope your eyes clear up soon.
    I can’t wait to be with you and finally start our lives together! I hope everything goes well with our plans. ❤
    One correction: I'll arrive there Dec. 4 not 3. Though when you think about it, it'll only be 3 here in the US. ;D

    Jo

    November 1, 2009 at 11:44 am

    • True… I am just even more eager to have you here!

      Steve

      November 1, 2009 at 11:53 am


Leave a Reply

