The QiRanger Adventures

An update in several parts…

with one comment

Click the image to view the video.

Click the image to view the video.

Fall is certainly here in full swing. The weather is wonderful, clocking in at a fantastic 70F (21C) with a slight breeze. The crisp air makes me think how much nicer it will be in a week when the leaves really start changing. I’m really hoping the my trek into the mountains next week garners me some excellent footage.

The weather change also means that the epic battle against excessive heat has already begun. I’m currently walking into classrooms with the heat turned on and it’s killing me. I mean, it is not cold outside by any stretch of the imagination, yet the children are constantly complaining about how cold they are. I shudder to think what will happen in November, December, and January when it is actually below freezing. I, for one, will really enjoy the chill and the power of being the teacher, so I can turn off the blasted heater.

I also uploaded a video to YouTube (see thumbnail) about Educational Technology. I’ve been working in the field since 1993 and have found it profoundly useful. Today, I’m able to use tools such as Skype and YouTube to augment lessons in the classroom that I never would have thought possible 15 years ago. Don’t get me wrong, I still prefer to be in the class, but something is said for being held accountable and learning on your own over a distance. It’s one of the reasons I think I do so well with Rosetta Stone.

The final thought for today surrounds my ongoing battle with Conjunctivitis. I revisited the doctor and he said things are progressing. It still feels like something is in my eye, but I’m glad that it looks better. I have another round of pills and drops (I really wish they would give you a week’s worth initially) and a new ointment I am to apply in and around my eye twice a day. I’m not really sure I like that idea, but hey… if it gets the job done, then so be it.

Hope you’re all doing well, and if you have experiences with Educational Technology, please leave a comment below and let me know what your favorite piece is.

Written by Steve Miller

October 8, 2009 at 2:27 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love watching instructional videos (even university lectures) on YouTube whenever I have time.
    I hope your eyes clear up soon! ❤

    Nice thumbnail shot! 🙂

    Jo

    October 9, 2009 at 11:03 pm


Leave a Reply

