The QiRanger Adventures

The party is over…

with 4 comments

The Main Corner at Night

The Main Corner at Night

The sun came up Monday morning, signaling two things… One, that the Chuseok (추석) holiday is officially over for me and two, that I must return to work this evening. Well, maybe…

Starting Friday, I’ve been battling a little illness in my left eye. It’s been red and achy, but not what I would really call infected. however, when I work up this morning, it was all gunked up, a sure sign that it really is and I’ve probably contracted Pink Eye. That really sucks on several levels, since I hate it when my eyes are like this. Plus, I only have a few sick days each year. I really don’t want to burn one for this, but I’ll see what the doctor says later today.

I’m also quite pissed that this all started on October 1, the day I put new contacts in my eyes. I did that of course… only to throw them out. Then yesterday, when things looked they were all aces in my eyes, I put fresh one in. Now, I’ll have to toss those as well. Which means, that I’ve wasted a month’s worth of contact lenses in two days. Maybe I’ll wear glasses through the end of October to make up for it.

Since last night was the end of Chuseok (추석), I was invited over to a friend’s place for dinner. We sampled various Korean traditional dishes and had a little wine, soju, and scotch. The event started at 6pm and after a few hours of talking, we wound up at the norebang (노래방).

I was just going to return home, but Berry insisted that I go. So, who am I to disappoint? The entire evening was fantastic. It was hosted by three of my closest Korean friends (Cindy, Gina, and Tiffany) that I see almost on a daily basis at the coffee shop.

They are a great bunch of women (sorry guys, they are all taken) who really reach out to foreigners to make them feel at home.

Two other things I though were interesting this long weekend surround my life here. First, it appears that two of my videos from last year have been featured on YouTube. They really aren’t anything special in terms of production value, but just me sitting in front of the camera. The first one was recorded a few days after I got to Korea in 2008, right before I was going to move into my apartment and I received my Mobile Phone. The other one was related to education and recounted the story of a student melting down in class.

Lastly, I have to give kudos to my school. Today is October 5th – Payday! However, when I went to the bank over the weekend, I saw that I had already been paid… on September 30th. How cool is that? How thoughtful! It was something completely unexpected and much appreciated. The owner didn’t have to pay early, since today is not a bank holiday or the weekend, but took the time out to make sure we had our funds in. That is the mark of a great man and owner. I’ve said it many times, and each time I sincerely mean it, this is probably the best place I’ve worked for.

Until next time…

Cheers!

Written by Steve Miller

October 5, 2009 at 8:13 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pink eye sounds like no fun! Congrats on having your videos featured. It really does sound like you have a good boss. I feel like I have been blessed too with a good boss which seems like a rarity in the Hagwon world.

    jason

    October 5, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    • Yeah.. not any fun at all. At least I have the meds and that should make a marked improvement.

      Steve

      October 5, 2009 at 1:22 pm

  2. The guy in the picture used his chopsticks to put up a peace sign. So funny and cool!

    Congrats on being featured! Great boss!

    Jo

    October 6, 2009 at 9:04 am


Leave a Reply

