The QiRanger Adventures

New words…

with 7 comments

When learning a new language, one often comes up something that you find a little amusing. My adventures in learning Korean certainly came up with something that still keeps me rolling. During our Screen Golfing outing, Erika kept proclaiming, “Aigo!” (Pronounced I-go.)

아이고

I politely asked Sean what that meant and he told me. It made me laugh… So I thought I’d look it up in Google today. This is what I got back:

Oh!;Ah!;Oh my!;My goodness!;Ouch! 아이고 다 틀렸다! Heavens! or By Jove! 아이고머니나! Dear me! 아이고 너무하는데! Oh, how unkind you are! 아이고 가엾어라! What a pity! or Poor thing{[girl, child]}! 아이고 아파라 Ouch! How it hurts. 아이고 좋아라 My, what a pleasant surprise. 아이고 죽겠다 Oh, I am dying. 아이고 이 일을 어쩌나! Well, what am I to do now!

Written by Steve Miller

September 14, 2009 at 3:41 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Steve

    Please forgive me emailing you in such a seemingly cold fashion. You seem to share my love of language and I wondered if you might like a mutual link to my English word website:

    http://www.thewonderofwhiffling.com

    with best wishes

    Adam Jacot de Boinod

    (author of The Meaning of Tingo)

    Adam Jacot de Boinod

    September 14, 2009 at 6:25 am

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a response. My wife-to-be loves your book and even selected a little nickname for me from it.

      I hope more people pick it up!

      Steve

      September 14, 2009 at 8:51 am

  2. Cute expression! 🙂

    Wow! You got a comment from the author of The Meaning of Tingo. I love that book! It’s where I got one of my nicknames for you, my darling osurgan. ;*

    Jo

    September 14, 2009 at 7:23 am

    • Yep. I was surprised!

      As for osurgan… 😛 😀

      Steve

      September 14, 2009 at 8:48 am

  3. Thanks Steve for your warm words

    Are you happy to link to http://www.thewonderofwhiffling.com ?

    with best wishes

    Adam

    Adam Jacot de Boinod

    September 14, 2009 at 7:08 pm

  4. Thanks Steve so much

    Adam

    Adam Jacot de Boinod

    September 14, 2009 at 10:32 pm


Leave a Reply

