The QiRanger Adventures

ARGH!!!!!!!!!

with 6 comments

At least the view is still nice!

For the past two weeks, I’ve been living in a state of constant frustration. You see, on that fateful day two weeks ago, my air conditioner unit ceased working. It had been slowly dying, but not completely failing. I also knew this was going to happen, since the unit is a piece of crap and the other Native Teacher at my school had hers go out in the middle of summer. I’m at least lucky that the summer is almost over and there can be at least a little cool during the day to off-set the lack of cooling the unit provides.

Now my school and building management have been doing everything in their power to get the unit repaired. In fact, I am in almost constant communication with them regarding this issue. The problem stems from the fact that the repair man assigned to this region is a complete incompetent. The first two times out to my place he literally took the remote off my desk, played with it, changed a few settings, and since it was blowing cool air, thought he had fixed it.

The unit always blows cool air, just not at a temperature that is capable of cooling a room (in the heat of the day the room reaches 31C/88F). In fact, it wasn’t until the third visit he got a ladder and actually touched the device. He cleaned out the filters and proclaimed it fixed.

Until I called an hour later saying that it was broken. he came back 5 days later to change out the PVC pipes in the rear. Yeah, like that did anything. It got so hot over the weekend, I decided to Love Motel it for a night just to enjoy some cooler weather.

Today, the building manager came by and saw that it was still broken and almost blew his lid. Hopefully he and my school’s owner can work with the manufacturer to try and get a brand new unit. Hopefully it will last more than 3 months.

Written by Steve Miller

September 8, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Posted in General Update

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope your AC gets fixed or replaced soon.

    Jo

    September 9, 2009 at 12:22 am

    • They will be back at things again today to try and “fix it.” I hope they are successful this time.

      Steve

      September 9, 2009 at 7:16 am

  2. Oh no! Life without an air conditioner in this climate in the summer must be absolutely brutal. I hope the Love Motel wasn’t too bad.

    Alisha

    September 9, 2009 at 11:10 am

    • The Love Motel is quite nice. I think I’ll have to make a video about them and how many they are here.

      Steve

      September 9, 2009 at 11:19 am

  3. I understand your air con frustration. I live in Daegu, the warmest city in South Korea. At my first academy here and my first summer (2006) the air con was substandard and was in the kitchen not the living room. So unless you slept in the kitchen its impact was negligible.

    During that summer temperatures regular touched the 36/37/38 degree mark but one fateful week when all staff were on holiday my fan broke. I had decided not to go anywhere on holiday AND decided to ride out the heat by not buying a new fan (work were legally bound to give me one) – what a mistake. I had hot temperatures multiplied by the greenhouse affect of being inside. I thought I knew the word uncomfortable but I only truly understood it that long week.

    Ever since this ‘episode’ the heat has been less of a factor for me but god bless working air con. I hope yours gets sorted.

    Gavin

    Gavin

    September 11, 2009 at 1:42 am

    • Thakns for the words of support. I hope things turn the corner today. They’re supposed to finally replace the entire unit today… we’ll see. It should be quite an audience in my flat today: the building super, my school manager, the building maintenance staff – all watching the repair guy.

      Steve

      September 11, 2009 at 6:17 am


Leave a Reply

