The QiRanger Adventures

K-Pop

with 8 comments

Brown Eyed Girls

Brown Eyed Girls

Music is said to sooth the savage beast. In recent years, it’s no secret that music has also become more sexually charged. In Korea, the pop music scene is huge. Girl/Boy bands come and go and are instantly raised to star status overnight. In fact, If there are some good gilrs, there’s no need to wait for a full album – the producers will release two or three “mini albums” while they take the time to cultivate the group.

I was first exposed to the scene last year when I had the opportunity to travel to KBS and watch a live recording of Musicbank. You can read about the post here. At that broadcast, I saw all the top acts. It’s a grueling show, since every network here in Korea has a music show. So while the new single is out, the bands have to perform almost nightly on TV.

Probably one of the best known groups to come out of Korea is the Wondergirls, who are currently touring with the Jonus Brothers. They had a single over a year ago, called “One More Time” which really infected the kids. Then they had their biggest hit with “Nobody”. Even after a year, it is still played. In fact, there are several translations out there as well.

This year, the pop offerings are equally intriguing. Some of the songs don’t really resonate with me, like any music scene, but some really do. I often time my weekend run so I can catch one of the shows and get the latest songs. (It also makes conversing with students more fun, too.) This year also has a little controversy as well.

The Brown Eyed Girls is a popular Girl Group. Over the years, they had a pretty low-key goody-goody image. Like most girl groups, they would dress the part, but really do nothing that was out of the ordinary. This time around, things have changed. The Girls have gone for a more adult image and have sexually charged their appearance and songs. This can be seen with their first popular single “Abracadabra.” I love the song, since it has a great beat. In fact, I have it as my ring tone. But the released music video is super sexually charged.

Some of the things that people have called to question are the following:

  • The treatment of women as sexual objects.
  • The risqué nature of the video.
  • The violence at the end.
  • The homosexual overtones.

In fact, when the Brown Eyed Girls perform on stage, the show is called the “clean version” since they leave out some of the material.

now one one of the major players in Korean Pop Music is JYP. He’s the man behind the Wondergirls (and is featured in their English “Nobody” vid). He created two new boy bands called 2PM and 2AM. Recently the two groups got together to produce a parody of “Abracadabra” by the “Dirty Eyed Girls.” It is so spot on, that I laugh every time I see it. Furthermore, the scenes in the jjimjilbang are priceless. I think that’s one of the things that I really like about these singers. Is that no matter how famous they get (and I see it in other entertainment fields here), they are always willing to have a little fun.

Written by Steve Miller

August 31, 2009 at 4:48 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the Dirty Eyed Girls!!! ;D

    Jo

    August 31, 2009 at 12:37 pm

  2. Hello there, QiRanger

    I believe you’ve mixed up some of your Brown Eyed Girls with your Wonder Girls (third paragraph).

    Always interesting to here other English native speakers take on Korean pop music. I generally don’t like most of it but really do like the Abracadabra song.

    p.s.
    As a new reader to this blog and a fellow English teacher out here in Korea I am enjoying reading your posts. As always, keep it interesting.

    Gavin

    August 31, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    • Great catch Gavin!

      Thanks for stopping by and reading!

      Found your blog as well and will keep it in my RSS feeder!

      Steve

      August 31, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  3. This site rocks!

    Bill Bartmann

    September 5, 2009 at 4:36 am

  4. This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

    Bill Bartmann

    September 18, 2009 at 12:08 am

    • 감사합니다!

      I’m glad that you’re enjoying my posts and continue to read!

      Steve

      September 18, 2009 at 7:59 am

  5. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

    Brian Moore

    September 25, 2009 at 8:56 am


Leave a Reply

