The QiRanger Adventures

It wasn’t all a bust!

with 9 comments

The Gang

The Gang

I’m sitting here on a cloudy and overcast Sunday typing and enjoying some fresh green tea from the Philippines. There really isn’t thing like this back in the US or here in Korea and I am very thankful to Jo for sending this to me. I’ve really missed having it after meals or when I just want to chill. Originally I had planned to head into Seoul today to explore Namsan and the Seoul Tower, in the hopes of scouting out a location for a YouTube Gathering (I want to call it the Soul of Seoul Gathering).

But alas, things don’t always go as planned. Because I wanted to make a video of the location, as well as some other places in downtown, I scrapped the idea. Furthermore, being up until 5am is a definite damper on going out all day. Originally, I hadn’t planned on staying out as late as I did, but as with all things in Korea, when you’re with friends and having a great time, the hours pass quickly and before you realize it, you find yourself looking at your watch and saying to yourself, “How did it get to be 4am?”

The night started out with two friends joining me in Central Park for a little golf. Even though, I had my camera with me, I elected not to take pictures, since the lighting was a bit dark. (I plan on returning and really filming the outing in HD, along with the other amenities of the park.) Even though this was not a challenging course, the first five holes caused Tasha, Vincent, and myself a great deal of stress in trying to hit the over-sized plastic balls with the golf mallets. It was fun and not a bad deal for W7,000.

Following the game, we chilled in front of the Family Mart for a while, until a very oinebreated Korean man pestered us to the point to where we had to leave. Normally, things don’t get to me, but this guy wouldn’t let the fact that he thought Tasha was attractive go – or for that matter, that he thought she was a Russian Prostitute. He kept asking us “How much?” while we politely ignored him. But he got a little more bold and wound up spitting on Vincent’s shirt. It was then we decided to take off for a bit.

A little later, we met up with two new friends, Richard and his girlfriend, Stephanie.We enjoyed a great meal and then headed out for some bowling. As always, that was a blast. Since the alley doesn’t serve alcohol, we brought our own in. I wasn’t nearly as focused as I was the previous outing, but still enjoyed myself, which is key! Following our game, Vincent popped into the lounge to update his Facebook Status, and he received a good ribbing for that!

The night then took us to the Wa Bar for a few drinks and then Alice’s for a 90 minute Norebang session. Richard is a few years, my junior, but grew up with the same musical background, so my favorite moments were jamming to the selected Billy Joel numbers. That’s right… We didn’t start the fire baby!

Then it was 4am.

So we retired to my apartment for some chill time and one last drink and a few tunes and videos. It really was a great night. I’m looking forward to getting together with them again soon!

I hope your Saturday night was as eventful and fun as mine!

Written by Steve Miller

August 30, 2009 at 5:17 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you guys had a good time. I have been meaning to post about noraebangs for awhile now. I would guess that about 20% of the photos on my hard-drive are from nights out singing.

    JR

    August 30, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    • They are great deal of fun. I only wish they had more of the songs that I could actually sing. But then again, I’m a ballad man. How I wish they would include “Can’t Help Myself (Sugarpie Honey Bunch)” some place.

      Steve

      August 30, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  2. They are great deal of fun. I only wish they had more of the songs that I could actually sing. But then again, I’m a ballad man. How I wish they would include “Can’t Help Myself (Sugarpie Honey Bunch)” some place.
    Sorry… forgot to say great post – can’t wait to read your next one!

    Steve

    August 30, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  3. You’re welcome!
    Glad you had a great time! Nice group picture!

    Jo

    August 30, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    • It was a great time. It will be better when you’re here with us!

      Steve

      August 31, 2009 at 6:49 am

  4. Sounds like great time. The drunk Korean guy unfortunately is not an uncommon occurrence unfortunately. I hear many stories about sexual harassment from Western girls in Korean, even going so far as to grab their assets in public. Though I witnessed this happening to Korean girls as well, and the security was totally apathetic. It seems this sort of thing is tolerated here, even if unwelcomed by the women.

    Joaquin Menchaca

    August 31, 2009 at 10:08 am

    • Very true. When it was starting to get out of hand, someone else came and ran interference for us.

      Steve

      August 31, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  5. Great picture with full of smiles!!! I wonder what would happen to the drunken man if it were the United States. What would be the normal sentencing in the US for a man found guilty of such a misconduct/sexual harassment? Would you guys have acted differently if same thing happened back home?

    galaxychorus

    August 31, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    • I usually don’t escalate things with drunk people… it’s not wise. Better let them make a fool of themselves and stumble home.

      Steve

      August 31, 2009 at 9:21 pm


Leave a Reply

