The QiRanger Adventures

Going Korean!

with 6 comments

A funny thing happend today. I got a phone call on my mobile phone from a number I didn’t recognize, and without thinking I answered, “Yobasayo.”

Todays Lunch... W6,000

Today's Lunch... W6,000

There was a tentative pause at the other end before I was greeted with, “Yobasayo.”

I quickly countered with, “Ne.”

Then the person cautiously asked for Steve. It was my friend Taena from TBS eFM. Appearantly my Korean was good enough to fool a native speaker. I was quite pleased at that accomplishment. We quickly turned to business before chatting about Korea and Korean food. She asked if it was agreeing with me, and I, of course, answered with a resounding, “Yes.”

The truth is I really love the food here. One of the things I try to tell new people when they come to Korea, is to make a point of going out to the local restaurants and just jumping in and trying to find something that meets your needs. There are a ton of great dishes. One of my favorite ways to get some exposure to new foods is to hit the Food Court at E-Mart or Lotte Mart.

The Food Case

The Food Case

At these places, they have large cabinets of food out on display. In fact, many times, my mouth just waters looking through all the offerings. There really is some interesting stuff there… and the prices aren’t too bad either.

I mean, they have everything there.

The best part of it is that you don’t have to know Korean to order the food. You see every menu option is paired up with a number. You can literally walk up to the counter and convey which number you want.

It’s that easy.

And it works.

So if you’re in Korea and want to give something a new whirl, head to your local big-box market and take a gamble on an interesting number, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

ill take the Number 44, please.

I'll take the Number 44, please.

Written by Steve Miller

August 18, 2009 at 2:56 pm

Posted in Cooking, Food, Korea, Language

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “You can literally walk up to the counter and convey which number you want.”

    I used to keep a pen and paper handy for just this reason!

    jason

    August 18, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    • I usually plug the number into my mobile phone. 😉

      Steve

      August 18, 2009 at 3:35 pm

  2. That is cool… much like Japan. I like Korean food, especially samgettan. I could eat THAT every day. Your Korean is good if you can fool your friends! LOL. Nice to see you back on “this” side of the pond!

    Jyankee

    August 18, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    • Thanks! what have you been up to? I saw that your blog ended!

      Steve

      August 19, 2009 at 7:11 am

  3. You soak up languages fast! That’s awesome!
    Mmmmmmm…cheap but good food…mmmmmm!

    Jo

    August 19, 2009 at 6:42 am


Leave a Reply

