The QiRanger Adventures

Rain, rain come again…

with 4 comments

Umbrella Bags: One for full-sized and one for short, extendible ones.

Umbrella Bags: One for full-sized and one for short, extendable ones.

July and August in Korea is Monsoon season. Now when I was a child in Arizona, we had a monsoon season as well, but it was nothing like this. Our monsoon season consisted of random thunder storms that would mysteriously burst through the heavens and drench the thirst-starved desert for 15 minutes before dissipating. Korea has a true monsoon season with steady rainfall for several weeks on end. Probably the most annoying aspect of this, is that it usually coincides with my summer vacations.

However, that is not what this post is about. It is about something that I have come to love about this country: The Umbrella Bag. During this time of year, you’ll find them at the front of every store. After coming in from the rain, you’ll close up your umbrella and shake off the excess water. Rather than then bringing in your umbrella to the store and dripping water everywhere, you step up to the bag dispenser and place your umbrella inside and snap off a baggie to collect the water while inside.

It’s perfect. I’ve come to rely on this so many times when going out at night to see films at the local CGV, since I don’t want my clothes soaked when I’m tucking my umbrella under my arm to purchase a ticket. I actually have come to resent it when stores don’t have them ready for us when it rains (I don’t mean small mom & pop stores, but the major department stores).

As the Typhoons continue to make landfall in China, we’re getting some extra rain here in Korea. Our monsoon season has been quite light, so I guess in a way, it’s a good thing, since I know how much the land needs the water. My only hope is that it clears up by the weekend. I really don’t like going out in the rain. Although, I suppose I could see a few museums this weekend should I get bored of editing the Feud!

Cheers all!

Written by Steve Miller

August 12, 2009 at 7:02 am

Posted in Korea

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a really cool invention!
    Now if only every U. S. department store/supermarket also offer these out front, a ton of money can be saved from legal fees and settlements. 😉

    Jo

    August 12, 2009 at 8:46 am

  2. I want one in my car so I don’t splash water all over the interior.

    Sloe

    August 12, 2009 at 9:01 am

    • I’d love to have a quick dry something that makes all the water instantly vaporize. But I think a car version would do wonders here in Korea. Perhaps there is already one.

      Steve

      August 12, 2009 at 9:36 am


Leave a Reply

