The QiRanger Adventures

G.I. Joe????

with 2 comments

Classic GI Joe Screen Shot

Classic GI Joe Screen Shot

So last night I met up with some friends and after our initial event, we were looking for something to do. So we decided to hit the CGV and see the 1:30 am showing of GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra. Now I wasn’t expecting much from the film, but I was at least hoping that it would be relatively true to the franchise.

Now it is never a good sign when a film isn’t screened for critics before it drops in the theaters, and I had caught a few reviews before Saturday night’s showing… but what was on the screen was just a lot of crap.

G.I. Joe has been around for many, many years and has had a rich history on television and in straight to DVD releases. This film seeks to reboot the story of the Joes and fails miserably. About the only thing the Hasbro team did right was make the explosions big and loud.  Even then, I was expecting to see them get a film credit.

Do yourself a favor, skip this film at all costs. It isn’t even worth picking it up in the $1 bin next year.

Written by Steve Miller

August 9, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Posted in Entertainment, Movies

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I must say, the women were hot in the movie! Hahaha! 😉
    I definitely liked Julie&Julia better. I’m really glad we saw Julia’s kitchen when we were in D.C.!

    Jo

    August 10, 2009 at 5:58 am

    • Yes, they certainly knew their target audience! I’ll have to catch J&J when it goes on DVD! I don’t think it will play here.

      😦

      Steve

      August 10, 2009 at 6:08 am


Leave a Reply

