The QiRanger Adventures

Getting older…

with 7 comments

The Video

The Video

I find that these days I am starting to feel my age. It’s a sad realization that I’m not to happy about. A few days ago I mentioned how I was not able to run as easily as I once had. In fact, the best I’ve been able to do is muster a 14 minute run at 7mph. So I decided to scale it back to just over 6mph… and what do I find? I can easily run 20-25 minutes at that pace.

It’s a shame, since only a month ago I was running a full 5k at 7mph, but it appears that a month off has really killed my system. It’s going to take some time for me to get into running shape again. That being said, I am now running that 20-25 minutes each day and then putting in a full work out as always 5 times a week, and that feels great!

I’ve also recently uncovered another unfortunate side effect of getting a bit older… the inability to drink alcohol. Now I’m not saying that I can no longer hold my liquor, but rather than the amount of alcohol in one beer severely disrupts my sleeping patters. I love sleep. I don’t like going to bed after a beer, only to wake up a few hours later. Then once awake, not be able to return to slumber for a number of hours… and that sleep be of a poor quality. As a result… when I finally do wake up in the morning, it takes forever to get started again.

So I want to know, what things can you no longer do that you were once able to achieve 10-15 years ago?

Written by Steve Miller

June 19, 2009 at 7:49 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. People have sometimes told me an ‘old soul’ which I don’t mind. It’s having such an old body that pisses me off… lol.

    John Lacey

    June 20, 2009 at 7:46 am

  2. I am thinking how I can be aging elegantly.

    jiyoenpark

    June 25, 2009 at 2:36 am

    • I’m sure you will find a way! I try to take it one day at a time!

      Steve

      June 25, 2009 at 6:23 am

  3. I am thinking about the way I can age elegantly.

    jiyoenpark

    June 25, 2009 at 2:39 am

  4. Hey, things like happen with age, but I doubt this is the situation here related to age, unless you are like Lance Armstrong and stayed in shape all this time, then sensed problems with the heart, etc…

    The thing I see is different phases in life. We trade somethings for other things. Many might let’s say, give up life as a bachelor to life with a family and career.

    I think many get into a situation where they’ve never lived the life they wanted, and later they find they cannot do the same things (like attract girls in their 20s by looks alone for example)…

    Joaquín Menchaca

    June 25, 2009 at 9:10 am

    • I doubt it’s anything with the heart… especially since my last check-up was clear. It’s a matter of fitness. Taking time off now really affects me in terms of building up my fitness level where it didn’t used to. I can easily run 5k at 10kph now. So I’ll slowly ramp up the speed.

      Steve

      June 25, 2009 at 9:16 am


Leave a Reply

