The QiRanger Adventures

Home is where you hang your hat…

leave a comment »

… is an old saying that seems to date back to 1948 and has relevance in today’s interesting times. While taking some time yesterday and reviewing the Korean TEFL Message boards, I came across a thread that asked if North Korea should attack South Korea, would foreigners be so inclined to pick up arms and defend the country.

Most of the responders were quick to respond that if any hostilities should break out, that they would leave immediately. That they felt no obligation to be in Korea or protect its citizens.

I differ from this perspective, because in a way, Korea is home. Not home in the sense that I call my mother’s house or Jo’s Apartment, but home none-the-less because it’s where I live, work, play, and pay taxes.

I am not a fan of war, but I would pick up means to protect myself and those around me. In fact, I’d feel obligagted to do so, since I would interprate the events as a direct attack on me. I was really taken aback by how many teachers were so quick to take jobs here and the money that went with it… but at the notion that their foreign home may come under attack, would just pick up and leave. Do they have no connection?

With all this being said, I know that the chance of an armed conflict is slim to nil, but I guess it does show a marked different attitude and cultural stance from one generation to the next.

What are your thoughts? If you lived in Korea and taught there for multiple years, would you pick up arms and defend the country?

Written by Steve Miller

May 30, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Posted in Korea, News

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

