The QiRanger Adventures

Rambling man…

with 6 comments

Truly an Internet Rambler...

Truly an Internet Rambler...

Every once in a while, a lot of things come through the pipeline, and there’s nothing to do but address them all at once… This is one such time, so this blog post will cover a variety of subjects… so bare with me…

First up… YouTube.

For the past few months, there have been tons of articles written, blogs posted, and vlogs shot about the demise of YouTube, its Huluification, and that the community is dead. to this I say, “Sit down and shut up.” YouTube is going stronger than ever, but facing a huge dilemma. While it remains the largest video sharing site on the Internet, it doesn’t make any money. Hulu.com, by contrast, does. Why? because Hulu shows prime-time content, where as YouTube showcases user-generated content, that for the most part, is utter crap.

99% of what is uploaded to YouTube holds no interest to anyone but the poster’s small circle of friends. With an audience so small, how can you market advertising? YouTube needs to make money, because they face a huge problem with not only bandwidth usage, but storage of millions of video files. Think about it, any user can upload a movie file 1gb in size and partners (like myself) can upload a 20gb movie. In fact, we can upload THOUSANDS of such files for FREE. That is a real cost.

YouTube needs to change its business model by attracting content that advertisers will pay for. That’s why movie studios and some network programming have been getting more attention on the site. It’s a good thing. It’s the only way for YouTube to compete with Hulu.

I don’t think Hulu will ever surpass YouTube in numbers of users or videos posted, but I do know they will easily pass YouTube in revenue generated. The fact that people flock to Hulu to watch programs on NBC, Fox, cable, and now Disney/ABC means that millions of hits for advertisers.

Now that the business side of things, let’s talk about community. It isn’t dead and will not die. But things are changing. When YouTube first started, it was relatively easy to become a star or to get a big audience. With millions of contributors, it’s harder. With Professional content, even harder. But that doesn’t mean that good content goes unnoticed, because we still share links and make responses. But if what is posted is poorly done, no one will watch it… and why would they?

The other thing that people bring up, is that folks are making fewer videos. Yes they are. People get busy and their interests change. I used to post a video a day. I would ramble on about what ever was on my mind. It was a Video Blog. But for the most part, people aren’t interested in another’s everyday life. Sure it may be interesting if someone is in another country or doing something different, but 99% of what is posted leaves you with a “so what?” feeling. This is why I’ve matured into the presenter I am today. Others have gone through the same process.

Ok… now let’s talk about Kiva.org.

I’ve known about this micro-lending site for well over a year and will be using it in the upcoming year to help others out. I plan on using about 10% of my income to assist those wanting to start businesses up in developing countries and I can’t even begin to tell you how excited about it I am. I’ll be making my first loan this weekend and keep you apprised of how the endeavors are going.

Third… Zombies.

Yes.

Zombies.

Yesterday was the debut of Plants vs. Zombies by PopCap. I wasn’t looking to get hooked by any video game, but thought I would download the trial and see what it was like to play it. I was hooked. It was just so… cute. I love it. I’ve played 58 minutes of the 1 hour trial and will probably end up purchasing it after I get my first paycheck. It’s bloody fun.

And finally… Korea.

All my documents have been shipped off to Korea to secure my work visa. In roughly about a week, I should have my Issuance number and I can take a trip down to the Consulate to have it put in my passport. Once that is done, I’ll be on a plane to the Land of the Morning Calm. I’ll be teaching ESL once more in a private school just outside of Seoul and close to where I was last time. Once I get settled, I’ll take you on a tour of my new city and some special sites and festivals.

That’s all for now… Cheers!

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Educational post for me on your YouTube insights–good stuff with lots of food for thought.

    slamdunk

    May 7, 2009 at 3:11 am

    • Thanks for taking the time to read. If you have any thoughts, I’d love to
      hear them.

      Steve

      May 7, 2009 at 3:22 am

  2. WOW! You’ll be back on THIS side of the pond! Awesome and congrats! I hope this school that you’re going to be with does you well.

    jyankee

    May 7, 2009 at 10:49 am

    • Thanks JY!

      Yes, this school is more than above board. I’m looking forward to returning
      to Asia. It will be a vastly different experience this time. I’m also hoping
      to make it out to Japan in July/August for about a week.

      PS – we love looking at pictures of Coffee swimming. She’s so cute!

      Steve

      May 7, 2009 at 11:19 am

  3. Hehe, sorry about this but I skipped the part 1,2 and 4 and went straight to those zombies. xD

    I just watched a little video featuring the game… Are you kidding me? You are kidding right? Will you really waste $20 on such a game? That’s sick…

    – Lora

    Lora

    May 8, 2009 at 8:42 am

    • It’s a fun little puzzle/strategy game. I love it. But then again, I have
      quirky tastes.

      Steve

      May 8, 2009 at 9:29 am


Leave a Reply

