The QiRanger Adventures

Cribbage

with 2 comments

Cribbage

Cribbage

When I was growing up, there was one game that I absolutely loved playing with my father: Cribbage. Even to this day, when my brothers and I get together, we usually break out the Cribbage board and play a game. One of the more enjoyable aspects of Cribbage, is that things can change so quickly… and that you can play with 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 players. It offers a variety of play that one rarely sees in a competitive points game.

But what is Cribbage??? From the Wiki:

Cribbage, or crib, is a card game traditionally for two players, but commonly played with three, four or more, that involves playing and grouping cards in combinations which gain points. Cribbage has several distinctive features: the cribbage board used for score keeping, the eponymous crib or box (a separate hand counting for the dealer), two distinct scoring stages (the play and the show) and a unique scoring system including points for groups of cards that total fifteen.

According to John Aubrey, cribbage was created by the English poet Sir John Suckling in the early 17th century, as a derivation of the game “noddy”. While noddy has disappeared, crib has survived, virtually unchanged, as one of the most popular games in the English-speaking world. The objective of the game is to be the first player to score a target number of points, typically 61 or 121. Points are scored for card combinations that add up to fifteen, and for pairs, triples, quadruples, runs and flushes.

Cribbage holds a special place among American submariners, serving as an “official” pastime. The wardroom of the oldest submarine in the fleet carries RADM Dick O’Kane’s personal cribbage board onboard, and upon decommissioning it is transferred to the next oldest boat.

I personally think this entry is a little out of date, since I rarely find anyone that knows how to play cribbage these days. But that does not deter me! You see, I love the game so much, that I usually have a travel board with me and have been known to sit in a coffee shop and play a game against myself. At least that way, I can be assured of winning at least one game!

Over the past year, I’ve taught Jo how to play. This has been a great deal of fun, since Cribbage is a fun game that has a fair bit of strategy, but also allows for idle chit-chat as one plays. I’m very happy to announce that Jo is quickly becoming accustomed to the varied counting rules and has beaten me the last two times we played.

The Video

The Video

So I want to know… What’s your favorite card, board, or video game? Let me know in the comments below, or post a video response on my YouTube page.

Written by Steve Miller

April 7, 2009 at 7:53 am

Posted in Fun, Games

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Totally agree with you. Cribbage is the best game.

    Loved it so much that I created the game CrossCribb. If you like cribbage you’ll like CrossCribb as well. CrossCribb takes the traditional rules of cribbage and adds the element of defensive play to the game. Great twist for those that have mastered the traditional game. Also fun for those that haven’t played cribbage before.

    Thanks for the post.

    Tony

    Tony Nelson

    July 11, 2009 at 6:47 am

    • I checked out the site… very interesting take on the game!

      Steve

      July 11, 2009 at 7:52 am


Leave a Reply

